Baked Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
After reading reviews I made adjustments, so I found it hard to give it the full 5 stars. This was a very tasty dish that went well with the pork tenderloin I prepared. I also served broccoli along with it. It was a nice presentation. Since so many commented on the sweetness, I cut the sugar in half. I used pineapple in its own juice, NOT the kind that has the sweetened syrup. It turned out fine...not sweet at all. I also cut the butter in half. Next time I would use just two tablespoons. I could still taste a bit of greasiness, although not bad. I followed the directions and used a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. If you want to taste these, you will have to use more than a pinch. We could not detect either spice in the casserole. Many reviewers said it was too eggy for them. So I used three eggs and 1/4 cup of milk. It turned out well. Cooking time was right on. I used a 2 1/2 quart casserole. It was a nice change from potatoes. Everyone who ate it, enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a new holiday staple at my house. I follow the recipe exactly, and we love it. Keys - use pinapple in juice, NOT syrup. Syrup will make it too sweet. Use good bread. I've always made it with french or italian. If you try this with Sandwich bread I expect it'd be a lot more runny/mushy. Mine has never been soggy, and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Made this as a side dish to "Marinated Pork Tenderloin" recipe also off this site, both EXCELLENT!! And compliment each other very well. If making this in a 9x13 pan, you will need more like 8 slices of bread in the mixture, so once its baked, it puffs up more like a stuffing, otherwise it will be too runny. I also cube my bread, don't think that matters as much. I also bake mine at 350 for 40 min. and that does the trick....I think 60 min. is too long. Enjoy, this is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I doubled this recipe for a dinner party, and put everything in one large baking dish. It was moist, fragrant, and absolutely delicious. Even the pickiest of eaters were having seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
A wonderful side dish with garlic/onion pork tenderloin! I used 1/4 pound of softened butter instead of the margarine, and only used 1/2 c. sugar. This dish is great to prepare early in the day and refrigerate until you are ready to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I just made this recipe and it turned out great. I changed it just a little by using only 1/2 cup of sugar, more nutmeg, lots of cinnamon and instead of white bread I had some Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread. Now it's more like dessert! Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe. I made it for a potluck and received lots of compliments. it is very easy and tastes great. I used approx. 6 oz. smart balance butter, 3/4 cup splenda, 10 slices bread, 2 20 oz cans crushed dole pineapple, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon. I baked it for about 1 1/2 hrs. I put some sliced pineapple on top. The batter was extremely sweet. Once it was baked, it was a lot better. Very easy, very inexpensive to make, very good. I recieved many compliments and 1 request for the recipe. highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
My mother and I have been making this same recipe (minus the spices) for years and it's ALWAYS a hit. We call it "pineapple souffle," even though it's definitely NOT a souffle - it's just kind of fun to call it that (we're just goofy and from the Midwest). I read one review for this recipe that said the leftovers are terrible, but we find that it actually taste better the second day, hot or cold. We serve this only on holidays, due to the fat content (and to keep it special). It's SO easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mulva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was a great dish for a potluck! Easy to throw together with items I had on hand. Tips for the next time I make it: Tear the bread into smaller pieces. Add more nutmeg and cinammon, I used maybe a teaspoon or two and the flavor was hardly there. I also used pineapple chunks and squashed them, I will definetly use crushed pinapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Delicious and lovely side dish. Served it with roast chicken. Used 1/2 cup of sugar in the recipe -- it was plenty sweet. Thank you for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States