Baked Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My family was blown away by this deceptively simple recipe. I didn't have white bread, so I used oat bread, and I also substituted butter for the margarine. Otherwise, I added all the recommended spices and didn't alter the recipe. I let the mixture sit a few minutes (during oven warm-up) so the eggs could seep into the bread before baking. I paired it with teriyaki salmon and it was fabulous. We didn't need dessert after having this with our dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Yummmy, yummy, yummy! This was great when paired with the maple pork tenderloin. After my 5yr old daughter tasted it she said I was THE best cook ever. LOL thanks for the great recipe! I will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is simply delicious. Was asked to bring a casserole to a ladies cooking club and several asked for the recipe. It goes in my Favorites file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Our family calls this Pineapple Bread Pudding. This has been a family favorite of ours since I was a child. We never made it with the spices and we drain the pineapple (but not draining out every drop of juice - it needs the moisture). It cooks in about 30 to 40 minutes (until lightly browned on top)and it is WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is the same recipe my mom always made. She never added the spices. It is delicious, especially with ham. I will try it with the spices next time. Thanks for sharing this family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCONNIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Yum! I used softened butter. I also used 10 slices of white bread (crusts removed). This was perfect for my 10x10 stoneware. The stoneware helps the dish stay hot if you are transporting it to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a new holiday staple at my house. I follow the recipe exactly, and we love it. Keys - use pinapple in juice, NOT syrup. Syrup will make it too sweet. Use good bread. I've always made it with french or italian. If you try this with Sandwich bread I expect it'd be a lot more runny/mushy. Mine has never been soggy, and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was okay--it was nice for something different. Like other reviewers, I made some changes: I used hamburger buns instead of bread and reduced the sugar (1/4 cup of white and 1/2 brown) and the margarine (3/4 of a stick). I also crumbled Ritz crackers and sharp cheddar on top to make it more savory, but it was still too much like bread pudding to serve as a side for my taste. Also, it didn't reheat well, so I'd recommend making it when you have a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this for years using pineapple, then tried it with chunky applesauce....it is just heavenly either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This recipe was super easy! I added 1/4 tsp Nutmeg and 1/2 tsp Cinnamon, and diced the bread into smaller pieces. I used it as a dessert with tea. It would be great served with vanilla icecream. Next time I will have it with sausage at brunch and will add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States