Baked Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
VERY GOOD!!! The only changes I made to the recipe were that instead of a full cup of white sugar I used 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar; and instead of regular sliced bread I found a sweet italian bread at my grocers bakery. I was even able to prepare ahead that morning by mixing all the ingredients except the bread and putting it in the refrigerator all day. When I was ready to start baking I just pulled apart my bread, added it to the mix and poured it into the casserole dish. Since this was the first time I had made this dish I was not expecting much and told everyone (grandmother, mom and sister included) it would not hurt my feelings if they did not like it. Much to my surprise, everyone loved it. There was even a little dish hogging when it was almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is more of a sweet side, but very good. It would go excellent with ham or pork chops. Also would be good with a caramel or chocolate sauce and ice cream for desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I make this often and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I served this alongside the Burgundy Pork Tenderloin from here on AR. It was very good but I did make some changes to try to lighten it up some. I only used 1/4 c butter and 1/2 c sugar. Also I left out the cinnamon and nutmeg...I thought it would taste to "desserty". I sprayed the baking dish with cooking spray first. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is awesome!! My Grandma used to make this when I was a kid and I always wondered how she did it. I cna't imagine not using the cinnamon and nutmeg. It really adds to the casserole. I've made this for friends and family and it disappears. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I make this every Easter to go along with my ham. It's tasty and very unique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe is so similar to one my mother got from my grandmother. We just use 3 eggs and we freeze our bread overnight and then cube it. But this is the yummiest thing ever! Great with ham or pork chops or chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I really really liked this. the bread pudding-esque texture combines very well with the crushed pineapple. my boyfriend and I first ate this as a dessert and I think it would be good with vanilla ice cream although I've been eating the leftovers for breakfast! used frozen sweet bread dough, that I baked into a loaf, half a cup of sugar, and no spices (my bf doesn't like cinnamon). next time I will use a 1/4 cup of butter to make it a bit more health conscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is wonderful! A number of people sampled it and we all agreed...we just have to have it again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
It was good, but not really a side dish. More of a dessert, if it had a sauce to go on top. I don't think it would get requested again by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States