Baked Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Oh my, this is good! I made this as a side for a spiral cut ham. It was wonderful and so easy. From now on I am making this every time I fix ham. Changes I made were: 1/2 cup sugar instead of a whole cup. Instead of adding water, I used the pineapple undrained. Seems to me it will give more flavor than draining and adding plain water. Also, I beat the eggs with a fork before I mixed in anything else. I used 1 tsp. of vanilla instead of 1 TBSP, it sounds like way too much for such a small recipe. My changes worked great. This is a delicious accompaniment to baked ham!! Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
It was really tasty without being too sweet but I suggest taking it easy on the cornstarch. I cut it to 1 1/2 tablespoonsful and that was plenty. If you add too much it's almost like thick bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I was searching for one like this to replace a family recipe I’d lost and no one else in my family can seem to find either. This came out very similar to the one I lost. I know my original one didn’t have vanilla in it, but I really liked that as an addition, so I’m planning on keeping it. I also used the pineapple juice instead of the water since I don’t see the point of draining it and tossing it and then adding water. I actually only used ¼ c. of sugar because I wanted it as a side dish and not too sweet. I think it still turned out very good and fairly sweet, so depending on what I’m making it for will probably use either ¼ c. or ½ c. of sugar in the future. I think with a whole cup of sugar it would have to be a relish/topping or dessert type thing (I like the ice cream idea one of the other reviewers mentioned) and not really a side, it would be very sweet. I took it to a holiday potluck and it was served more or less room temp, by the time people ate it, but everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
wow! so easy to make, and super tasty! I used splenda instead of sugar (I ran out of real sugar) and my guests couldn't tell the difference. comments were "a great egg-custard like dessert" will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
Easy and yummy. I'd use this as a quick family dessert or a side dish with ham. Kids loved it. Next time, I'll beat the eggs before I add them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Very good. I got a little ahead of myself in mixing the ingredients and mixed in the cinnamon with it all. I did use pineapple juice instead of water and sprinkle additional cinnamon on before it went in the oven. The next time I make it I'll beat the eggs before I mix them in. Perfect dish for a holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
Very good. What my family did was put it over our ham. What a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This was a little too sweet for my taste - will try again with less sugar. Good with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This was pretty good, but what I like most about it is that there are only 3 grams of fat per serving! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter and everyone really liked it! Some suggestions: 1) Beat the eggs before adding; 2) use the juice from the pineapple, and mix the cornstarch with the juice before adding to the other ingredients to avoid cornstarch clumps. I also mixed the cinnamon right in with everything else and skipped the extra butter on top. I used 3/4 a cup of sugar and it worked out nicely. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States