Baked Penne with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Pretty good! Needs a little something maybe more garlic or mushrooms, but overall pretty hearty dish! My family was amazed and they wanted more!! Thanx I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Not being a big baked pasta fan, my husband saw I was making this and looked a little disappointed. But, once he ate it, he changed his tune. He really liked it and so did I. The only change I made was I added a couple of extra cloves of garlic while cooking the meat and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
We all liked it but didn't care much for the mozzarella cheese. Will leave it out the next time. May try ricotta cheese instead. I used link Italian sausage instead of ground, which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This was a very good, hearty meal. I added fresh garlic as well, and froze half to eat later. Good for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
LOVED THIS!!! BUT, I changed it a tad, I used a smaller can of tomato sauce and used a jar of garden style spaghetti sauce (which has green peppers and mushrooms) instead of the tomatoes and tomato paste. I liked subtle taste of wine in the pasta bake. My family just gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a big hit in our house last evening. Yummy! I didn't have white wine in the house when making the dish, and it STILL tasted great. I also used turkey sausage in the dish, to cut down on some fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
My family really liked this. It was quick and easy for a Sunday night dinner after working hard in the yard and household chores, I had little energy to put into a big meal. It was ready and on the table within an hour and 10 minutes. I added garlic with the onions and sausage and took another's advice and reduced the tomato by eliminating the tomato paste. I also didn't have the type of cheese recommended, so substituted a little bit of chedder cheese on "one" side of the dish since some family members dont like melted cheese. I also added some sliced olives and chopped marinated artichokes. My 18 and 23 year old were actually fighting over the leftovers! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
We really liked this. To make it more "kid-friendly" for my picky 11-yr old, I added pepperoni to the top of the casserole before the cheese. He really liked it. I also added about 1/2 tsp of Italian Herb Seasoning, although after eating it, it probably didn't need it. It was flavorful enough with the other ingredients. The pepperoni will be a standard ingredient when I make this again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This turned out really well...even my picky husband gave me the "go ahead" and prepare again in the future. Like another reviewer, I too used spaghetti sauce in place of all the canned tomatoes. I didn't use near as much cheese called for...I sprinkled on just enought to cover the top. I also used "hot" italian sausage which gave it a little kick. Good Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
My whole family enjoyed this recipe!!! It was delicious and very easy to prepare, even for someone like me who doesn't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States