Baked Penne and Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
First I must say I am reviewing the original recipe that appeared in magazine advertisements several years ago. I don't know why they changed the recipe because the original one was great. The differences are...use cream of celery soup instead of the mushroom soup, use 1 1/2 cups milk instead of 2 1/2, use 4 cups cooked penne, which is 2 1/2 cups uncooked or 8 oz., use mozzarella instead of cheddar and use the cheddar French Fried Onions. Put together the same way but bake uncovered for 30 minutes before adding remaining onions and cheese and baking the additional 3 minutes. I did make 2 variations from this recipe, I used 2 cups fully cooked cubed ham instead of the sausage only because my husband doesn't like sausage, and I used half mozzarella and half cheddar. This turned out great and was loved by everyone. The changes I made weren't enough to affect my rating because this would be excellent as written (magazine version). Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This is tasty and quick to make. Not spicy, the soup and cheese make it mellow. I took away a star purely because of the sodium content. I would make this again, but would use ground pork with some sage added and make my own cream sauce. This would be a good recipe to take to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My husband, 16 month old and I all loved this! I used Turkey Smoked Sausage and mini wheel pasta and mixed everything together including the French fried onion and cheese. I baked covered with aluminum foil for 50 minutes at 375 and then uncovered at same temp for 10 minutes to crisp up top. Its so rare in our home, with such a young child, to find one dish that everyone can fill up on! This was actually the 1st time our daughter was offered smoked sausage to eat - and she loved it! Still does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Skipped the French-fried onions as I didn't have any. Added some julienne carrots to get another vegetable in the mix. It tasted even better the next day in my lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My boyfriend and I thought this was a solid 4 casserole recipe. I did tweak it slightly by skipping the french-fried onions and adding spices (onion powder, garlic powder, pepper and a few red pepper flakes). I also added a bit more cheese than called for and used rotini instead of penne. The suggestion about stirring partly through the cooking time was a good idea. My boyfriend would like to add that more cheese is always better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Good comfort food. It's very rich, so don't over do it. I changed it using whole wheat noodles and turkey sausage and it turned out great! I also used low sodium soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very yummy and filling. This is a crowd pleaser! I substituted frozen green beans for peas, because we hate peas! After eating it, we all agreed that it could have used more green beans. I think next time I'll add two cups of green beans. I also think a lighter cheese would be better. Maybe shredded parmesan at the end or monterey jack or even provolone. I feel like Cheddar was a bit much for the meal. I also substituted linguisa (Italian sausage) instead of what the recipe called for. It is wonderful though. I really recommend it to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h.kellyglasoe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I will never make this again! After the 45 minutes it still had alot of liquid and the pasta wasn't quite cooked. I took the foil off and baked for about 10 more minutes. The whole thing just tasted like peas. Gross!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I thought this was very easy and tasted great! My 2 yr. old loved it too! I used a lean sausage to help with the calories, but that did not take away from the flavor. Very hearty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denette
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This recipe was good. Very rich, and casserole-like simple favors. My husband and I agree the smoked sausage tastes a bit like you made it with hot dogs. I may try with Italian sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States