Baked Penne and Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We loved this recipe and the only thing I did different was that I cooked the pasta separately so it didn't have to be in the oven for 45 minutes. It is 90 today so wanted to keep the oven at a minimum. I may try green beans or other veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I followed the recipe as written. However, even before it was done, I was wondering if the recipe has everything right. The 2.5 cups of milk was way too much and the 8 ounces of uncooked penne pasta was too little. Also, this recipe needs to be spiced up a little. It's just a dull, uninteresting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Would like to find a way to cut the smoked sausage-y flavor and have it be less over powering but not a bad dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very good recipe. I think next time I'll try ground sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraHankenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this for the entire family. I dont know if I bought the wrong type of smoked sausage, but it was very rich and greasy. I was not happy with this recipe and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very yummy and filling. This is a crowd pleaser! I substituted frozen green beans for peas, because we hate peas! After eating it, we all agreed that it could have used more green beans. I think next time I'll add two cups of green beans. I also think a lighter cheese would be better. Maybe shredded parmesan at the end or monterey jack or even provolone. I feel like Cheddar was a bit much for the meal. I also substituted linguisa (Italian sausage) instead of what the recipe called for. It is wonderful though. I really recommend it to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h.kellyglasoe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
i used the jalapeno smoked hillshire sausage...so yummy and just enough heat. the boys all went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was delicious! I used cream of onion soup, wagon wheel pasta and upped the milk to 3 cups. My picky husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
pretty good casserole. I went with some suggestions from a reviewer who talked about the "original recipe" Used cream of celery instead of mushroom. I precooked the noodles, decreased the milk to 1 1/2 cups and added chedder cheese along with some onion powder and seasoning salt to milk soup combo. Baked 350 for 20 min, then topped with the fried onions and colby jack cheese/mozz cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My boyfriend and I thought this was a solid 4 casserole recipe. I did tweak it slightly by skipping the french-fried onions and adding spices (onion powder, garlic powder, pepper and a few red pepper flakes). I also added a bit more cheese than called for and used rotini instead of penne. The suggestion about stirring partly through the cooking time was a good idea. My boyfriend would like to add that more cheese is always better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States