Baked Penne and Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My boyfriend and I were looking to try something new and came across this, it was really good he went back for seconds and loved it even more every time. The only thing that I would change is the amount of Sausage used, and it didn't seem to have alot of sauce. Other then that it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I followed this recipe about 80% of the way and it turned out fabulous! Here's what I did: I used 6 spinach and asiago flavored chicken sausages cut up and sauted until browned with 1.5 diced green pepper and about 1c of diced onion, sauted all in olive oil until onions were tender. I par-boiled the noodles because I hate the way uncooked noodles come out in casseroles. Drained pasta and added it to sausage mixture, as well as two cans of cream of mushroom soup and about 1.5c milk. Mixed everything together and poured into a large casserole dish, topped with cheddar flavored French-fried onions, and sprinkled a mixture of cheddar, mozz., and colby cheeses on top. Baked at 350 for about 30 mins until the top was lightly browned. I made a large glass casserole dish full of this. This was fantastic and both my bf and I went back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is a very tasty and easy recipe. I deducted a star because of calories content. I added broccoli and substituted sausage with ham. I suggest mixing the cream sauce ingredients over the stove top (soup, milk and cheese) before cooking it in the oven. This allows for a more even and creamier texture and also speeds the cooking process along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I made this recipe, and the pasta was gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I added 1/2 cup extra liquid at the advice of other reviewers and it turned out like soup. I uncovered it and let it bake longer, but the pasta had a weird consistency and the flavor was lacking. Definitely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
It was good enough to eat the one serving the first night, but I can't bring myself to eat the leftovers, which is unheard of. I don't know what it is about it. It's creamy, salty, chewy, crunchy; has meat, carbs, veggies; you can use healthy substitutions...I just wasn't a huge fan. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Good. I precooked the noodles. Added mixed veggis and red peppers. Put cheese and onions on top for last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
First I must say I am reviewing the original recipe that appeared in magazine advertisements several years ago. I don't know why they changed the recipe because the original one was great. The differences are...use cream of celery soup instead of the mushroom soup, use 1 1/2 cups milk instead of 2 1/2, use 4 cups cooked penne, which is 2 1/2 cups uncooked or 8 oz., use mozzarella instead of cheddar and use the cheddar French Fried Onions. Put together the same way but bake uncovered for 30 minutes before adding remaining onions and cheese and baking the additional 3 minutes. I did make 2 variations from this recipe, I used 2 cups fully cooked cubed ham instead of the sausage only because my husband doesn't like sausage, and I used half mozzarella and half cheddar. This turned out great and was loved by everyone. The changes I made weren't enough to affect my rating because this would be excellent as written (magazine version). Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow and made a great amount for our family of five. Not everybody wanted to try it, but those of us that did LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Attica, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Blanchard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States