Baked Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
I was a little leary of the brown gravy but it wasn't bad. I do agree it is a little bland . I added chopped onion and green pepper. I also doubled the Mozzerella. I added a cup of mozzerlla in with the pasta and put the rest on top. I will make it again and play around with the seasonings a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I thought that this recipe was fantastic! I changed the ground beef to Italian Sausage and I think that it made a big differance. My husband loved it so much he couldn't stop long enough from eating to tell me if he liked it or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Do I EVER love this recipe! We loved it so much, I made it again 5 days later. And, it's SOOO easy to make. The only changes I made to this recipe is that I substituted a jar of Alfredo Sauce for the half-and-half. What a wonderful flavor it gave it. Also, since I bought a 2 cup bag of shredded mozzarella cheese, I used it all because my son loves the cheese! This is a keeper I'll make over and over again! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
We just loved this stuff. The brown gravy gave the sauce that "I slaved in the kitchen all day" flavor. Although the recipe makes quite a bit, it was gone for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great basic recipe! I made the following changes - 1. used milk instead of cream 2. instead of the oregano and basil I used italian seasoning mix and pepper 3. I didn't have a 12oz can of gravy, only 10oz 4. I used 2 cans of pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce (more flavour) 5. I forgot the parmesan cheese lol 6. I used 2 cups of mozzarella cheese and mixed half in and the put the rest on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I am not a fan of red sauce and pasta ie: lasagna, baked ziti, or spaghetti.....but this recipe was absolutely delcious!!! Wow!!! My family requested I make some sort of pasta dish and I searched and found this one. The fact that it had brown gravy in the ingredients made me really curious (plus all the rave reviews!). I can't tell you enough how tasty and wonderful this baked pasta was. As usual, I changed up a few things though. I added two cut up sweet italian sausages with the ground beef (seasoned meat with adobo, garlic powder, and pepper); used a 10.5 oz of brown gravy with onions; used 2 kinds of cheeses - swiss and mozzerella (and I layered pasta, cheese, pasta, cheese). The outcome was SPECTACULAR!!!!! Will make this again. It was a BIG HIT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was great. I did double the sauce, and put half of the sauce with pasta in baking dish added some mozzarella, then put rest of sauce and pasta on top and added cheese to top. Personal perference we love cheese. I've also used 2 jars of spaghetti sauce when in a pinch for time. Great post, my kids, grandkids and co-workers loved it. Also great using other cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This is easy and yummy! The left overs are even better because the spices in the sauce have time to blend. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of sauce. I did not let it cook as long as the recipe indicates so maybe that is why it did not end up dry on top as others have noted. Not sure how long I cooked it...I just took it out once the cheese was melted & bubbly on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Very easy to make. My kids loved it. I added extra garlic and cheese. I also substituted diced tomatoes with italian seasoning for the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
It was good but not great. I would make it again but definitely add more cheese. It a good starter recipe to adjust to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States