Baked Pancake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I agree with Yvonnellam, Seemed like a decent base recipe. It is very plain if you leave it as it is written out. Definitely need other ingredients for flavor. I used a butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon glaze. I slathered it over the top during the last five minutes of cooking and it came out like a cinnamon roll cake :-) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These taste absolutely nothing like pancakes. they come out really flat and look like cornbread. the serving size is ridiculously small. two boys were still hungry for more food after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wonderful! Easy to make and if you add chocolate chips and serve warm it is heavenly! Also great with jam or syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Heavy and not very sweet. Pretty bland all things considered. It might be better with different add ins, but it would still be very heavy and dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My guests really liked these last weekend, and I am planning to make the again for my B&B this weekend. That deserves 5 stars! I serve them with a blueberry sauce on this site - a perfect summer breakfast! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I adjusted just a couple ingredients to reflect what I had on hand--I used "soured" lactose-free milk, melted margerine instead of butter and a full egg instead of egg substitute. This baked up beautifully. Between the two boys, they ate the whole pan spread with margerine and my homemade blackberry-raspberry jam. NOTE: If you're feeding a larger family, you might want to double or triple the recipe and use a bigger baking pan. This one made six "squares" for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was pretty good, I used almond milk instead of regular since we were out and added two big dollops of sour cream. I also modified the brown sugar on the bottom, chunks of butter (1/2 stick) instead of melted, 1/4 c brown sugar and no nuts. It came out tasty, almost like syrup, kids loved it. Next time we'll try to make it a bit more savory with bacon and green chili and no sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffness23
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
So good! I took the advice of others and came up with an oatmeal-cinnamon-sugar flavored cake. So great topped with syrup, honey, or jelly. I tried it all. Thank you!!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These were merely okay for me, and the base recipe here requires a lot of doctoring. I used a medium egg instead of egg substitute, half the baking powder, added a splash of vanilla, and before I poured the batter into the pan, I melted 4 T butter, mixed it with 1/2 c brown sugar and some macadamia nuts in the bottom of the pan. After baking, there was a lot of excess butter around the edges I poured off before inverting it on a plate. The brown sugar was still a little grainy. A nice change from saturday-morning pancakes or waffles, but probably won't be a mainstay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
So simple and fast ... love it and have enjoyed it many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkskull1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States