Baked Orange Roughy Italian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
We've been making orange roughy similar to this for years. To make this recipe even healthier, I skip the butter step. Then I sprinkle the fillets with garlic salt and press them into equal parts seasoned bread crumbs and parm cheese (I actually prefer the stuff in the green jar over real, for this dish). Bake on a foil-lined baking sheet coated with a bit of spray. Sometimes we spritz the tops of the fillets with spray, which makes the coating a little crispy. My husband is NOT a fish eater, but he requests this dish at least once a month. You will be surprised how tasty this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I have made this recipe many times with great results. I keep frozen orange roughy from wholesale club on hand because everyone, esp. my 9 yr old, loves it. To save time I do not thaw, and simply place the ingredients on top of the fish (must bake longer). I substitute olive oil for butter, do not use the salt, and add fresh lemon slices. Very moist & tasty! Have also used tilapia, but prefer orange roughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
YUM! I used frozen mahi mahi and soaked them in milk for about a half hour to get rid of the fishy taste. My seafood-hating husband liked this too. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This dish added versatility to my fish cuisine. For me, it was better than always frying or baking plain using the usual seasonings. Unlike the previous rater, this dish is a keeper. Is it 5-star chef, gourmet delicious?...probably not, but like most recipes on this site, it's home-style, family friendly and perfect for the busy professional like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Wonderful flavor and very low fat, as I only needed a tiny bit more than 1 T. olove oil instead of the butter. My 11-year-old son ate three portions, and our daughter (13) had seconds. A real hit for this household. Will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
My husband and I loved this-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY - a great new way to enjoy fish! I just sprayed the fish with olive oil then coated it and it cooked up flakey and full of flavor - no fishy taste at all! To complete the meal I saute' some squash, zucchini, mushrooms and onions while the fish cooked and it was a great meal. My husband is not a fish lover and he went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
very nice. Orange roughy has a mild flavor and a delicate texture, and this method did not kill the texture or the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Mmmmm...good! This is a great orange roughy recipe! My husband loves fish, I'm not too good at cooking it...this recipe made it easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
My whole family loved it. My daughters asked for thirds,they ended up eating a whole piece of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States