Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
i'm a HUGE fan of fried onion rings but this baked version was excellent!!! and not greasy at all. i also didn't use the bag method - just dipped them in a bowl with bread crumbs mixed with garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, parsley flakes, salt, and pepper (minus the thyme). i will make these again very soon cuz all i have left in my house are onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Thanks! Finally I have found a recipe that keeps the breading on...and doens't allow it to fall off when I take a bite. I followed the recipe excatly ...but baked some and fried some. I think it must be the whipped egg whites that do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
VERY good. A heathy alternative to a deep fried favorite. I added dome different spices and used some baking powder and flour in the bread crumbs. They came out crunchy and delicious. I also double dipped them into the egg and bread crumbs for a thicker coating. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Great baked onion ring, satisfied my onion ring craving! I used bowls instead of plastic bags but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The breading stuck to the onions just fine. I think problem people have had with the breading sticking comes from the egg whites not being whipped enough. The foaminess of the egg whites should be very fine, and almost to soft peak stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Following previous reviews I beat the egg whites to a soft peak and they truned out really well. I had no problems with the breadcrumbs sticking to the onions. Next time I will slice the onions a little thicker and add some parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
We were making burgers but didnt have anything to go with them so decided to try this recipe, and what a pleasant surprise! Honestly, I wasnt expecting much, but these onion rings taste just as good, if not better than their fried counterparts. I actually used fish fry instead of bread crumbs, so mine may have been saltier than the original recipe, but I still enjoyed them alot (and so did my family!) And yes, breading the onions was sort of difficult, but I always find it difficult to bread things, so this was not a surprise...will make these again the next time we have burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These were AMAZING!! I'd give them 10 stars if I could!! I love onion rings but they do NOT fit into my diet so I decided to try these. Even my 5 year old loved them! I made them tonight & he wanted seconds! Since we were out (I scaled down the recipe) he asked if I'd make them tomorrow! I didn't do the bag method - I used 2 bowls. One for the breadcrumbs, one for the egg. I also used egg whites & not the entire egg to make them even more figure friendly. I did double dip them though - dipped in egg then crumbs, back in the egg & back in the crumbs. Had no problems with them sticking either - they were perfect. I didn't have thyme so I used S & P, Paprika & some Garlic Powder. They were FANTASTIC! Thanks for such an awesome recipe - this one will be a staple in my house for appetizer night & football nights! My husband can't wait to try them once he's off night shifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These onion rings turned out fantastic being they are baked! Don't get me wrong, of course fried deliver an entirely different flavor, but this recipe is a wonderful alternative, and healthy too! I used my whisk for the egg whites, I beat until frothy. I also used Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so you may want to cut down on the salt that's added. I love salt so it didn't bother me, but I could see this being salty to others if using seasoned crumbs. I also very lightly greased the baking sheet with olive oil, and it worked great! I will definitely make these often, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These looked exactly like the picture and we dipped them in blue cheese! Awesome and now my new favourite low fat onion rings!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Since I am trying to cut calories and fat, I am not frying anything. This recipe lets me get that "almost" fried onion ring taste. The onions really are delicious and crispy. I skipped the 3 bags step but now see the need for them. The breading gets clumpy and won't stick to the onions. Next time I'll follow directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States