Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Hey I worked in my father's restaurant for a long time and we made onion rings. Running out of onion rings was a big problem because the batter would fall off if you didn't let it sit in the refrigerator before frying (at least 20 minutes). Soaking the onions in ice water would help the breading stick (a lot better than doubling up on the flour and breading) but it still wouldn't stick as well as letting them sit in the refrigerator. Of course we only used flour, water and breading. Thus, I recommend omitting the ice water step but place the prepared onion rings in the refrigerator for 30 minutes prior to baking. I think this should help the problem of the batter falling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These turned out really well. It's nice that they are not fried and still crispy. The trick is to beat the egg whites for at least two minutes until they have stiff peaks. Make sure you only put a little of the bread crumb mixture at a time in the bag because as it got wet it didn't stick well. It needs to be dry. I needed get rid of the wet stuff and make a little more. Next time I will know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I modified several steps of this recipe..I chose to not use the resealable bags, but instead used bowls. I did not soak the onions in ice water (didn't see the point). I dipped in egg mixture and then into flour and then finally into a bread crumb/corn flake crumbs mixture. It helped to dip twice to make the coating thicker. I drizzled a bit of olive oil into the baking dish and baked according to original recipe....VERY GOOD!! Next time I will try without the olive oil to see if they get as crispy. Sprinkled with parmesan/romano hot out of the oven! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
i'm a HUGE fan of fried onion rings but this baked version was excellent!!! and not greasy at all. i also didn't use the bag method - just dipped them in a bowl with bread crumbs mixed with garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, parsley flakes, salt, and pepper (minus the thyme). i will make these again very soon cuz all i have left in my house are onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These onion rings turned out fantastic being they are baked! Don't get me wrong, of course fried deliver an entirely different flavor, but this recipe is a wonderful alternative, and healthy too! I used my whisk for the egg whites, I beat until frothy. I also used Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so you may want to cut down on the salt that's added. I love salt so it didn't bother me, but I could see this being salty to others if using seasoned crumbs. I also very lightly greased the baking sheet with olive oil, and it worked great! I will definitely make these often, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Great baked onion ring, satisfied my onion ring craving! I used bowls instead of plastic bags but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The breading stuck to the onions just fine. I think problem people have had with the breading sticking comes from the egg whites not being whipped enough. The foaminess of the egg whites should be very fine, and almost to soft peak stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I agree with other reviewers who say that the trick is to beat the egg whites to stiff-peak stage- it helps the crumbs stick better. Also, i went with the bowl method instead of a bag and got great results. A good trick to use to prevent "club fingers" is to use one hand for the "wet" and the other for the "dry", preventing any cross between the two. Overall, I gave this a 4. The texture was good and the rings browned nicely- it was very good for a baked recipe. I think next time I'm going to try panko breadcrumbs to see if I can get a different texture, as that was the only thing that didn't please me. I'll definitely be trying this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bombsfadeaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Breading problem - Like other reviewers, the breading didn't seem to want to stick on the rings. We ate them anyway, and they were okay, but probably won't use this recipe again. Is there a trick other cooks used to make the breading stick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
VERY good. A heathy alternative to a deep fried favorite. I added dome different spices and used some baking powder and flour in the bread crumbs. They came out crunchy and delicious. I also double dipped them into the egg and bread crumbs for a thicker coating. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Following previous reviews I beat the egg whites to a soft peak and they truned out really well. I had no problems with the breadcrumbs sticking to the onions. Next time I will slice the onions a little thicker and add some parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States