Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I modified several steps of this recipe..I chose to not use the resealable bags, but instead used bowls. I did not soak the onions in ice water (didn't see the point). I dipped in egg mixture and then into flour and then finally into a bread crumb/corn flake crumbs mixture. It helped to dip twice to make the coating thicker. I drizzled a bit of olive oil into the baking dish and baked according to original recipe....VERY GOOD!! Next time I will try without the olive oil to see if they get as crispy. Sprinkled with parmesan/romano hot out of the oven! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This didn't work for me at all. Breading didn't stick to the onions, and so we just had scantilly breaded baked onions. Perhaps there is not substitute for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
i'm a HUGE fan of fried onion rings but this baked version was excellent!!! and not greasy at all. i also didn't use the bag method - just dipped them in a bowl with bread crumbs mixed with garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, parsley flakes, salt, and pepper (minus the thyme). i will make these again very soon cuz all i have left in my house are onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Thanks! Finally I have found a recipe that keeps the breading on...and doens't allow it to fall off when I take a bite. I followed the recipe excatly ...but baked some and fried some. I think it must be the whipped egg whites that do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This didn't do it for us at all. The coating wouldn't stick to the onion, and the flavour was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I thought these were very tasty, but they weren't very well received by my husband. They turned out a little dry and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The taste is fine, but the breading didn't stay on. In no rush to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
VERY good. A heathy alternative to a deep fried favorite. I added dome different spices and used some baking powder and flour in the bread crumbs. They came out crunchy and delicious. I also double dipped them into the egg and bread crumbs for a thicker coating. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sydney
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
THE TASTE WAS VERY GOOD THE ONLY THING I DIDNT LIKE ABOUT THE RECIPE IS THAT THE BREADING IS HARD TO GET STUCK ONTO THE ONION RINGS. BUT THEY WERE VERY GOOD AND I WILL MAKE AGAIN! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Great baked onion ring, satisfied my onion ring craving! I used bowls instead of plastic bags but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The breading stuck to the onions just fine. I think problem people have had with the breading sticking comes from the egg whites not being whipped enough. The foaminess of the egg whites should be very fine, and almost to soft peak stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States