Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
i used my standing mixer to form the stiff peaks and a bowl for the seasoned breadcrumbs. start w/ a small amount of bread crumbs & add more as you go because they dont stick as well when they get eggy. before they were cooked they didnt look coated enough but they turned out really good once they came out of the oven. sprayed them with pam to ensure they got crispy. they made a perfect side for slow cooker buffalo chix sandwiches. also served w/ celery sticks and homemade ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Hey I worked in my father's restaurant for a long time and we made onion rings. Running out of onion rings was a big problem because the batter would fall off if you didn't let it sit in the refrigerator before frying (at least 20 minutes). Soaking the onions in ice water would help the breading stick (a lot better than doubling up on the flour and breading) but it still wouldn't stick as well as letting them sit in the refrigerator. Of course we only used flour, water and breading. Thus, I recommend omitting the ice water step but place the prepared onion rings in the refrigerator for 30 minutes prior to baking. I think this should help the problem of the batter falling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Pretty good healthy alternative! It satisfied my craving without the guilt. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Following previous reviews I beat the egg whites to a soft peak and they truned out really well. I had no problems with the breadcrumbs sticking to the onions. Next time I will slice the onions a little thicker and add some parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These turned out really well. It's nice that they are not fried and still crispy. The trick is to beat the egg whites for at least two minutes until they have stiff peaks. Make sure you only put a little of the bread crumb mixture at a time in the bag because as it got wet it didn't stick well. It needs to be dry. I needed get rid of the wet stuff and make a little more. Next time I will know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I couldn't get the breading to stick but I think I'm at fault - probably didn't beat the egg whites long enough. However, they did taste pretty good, considering it's a healthier version of the greasy, fried rings. Following the advice of my father, I coated the onions with cornstarch, then dipped it in egg white, and finally in the bread crumbs. Thankfully, the breading did stick to the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Breading problem - Like other reviewers, the breading didn't seem to want to stick on the rings. We ate them anyway, and they were okay, but probably won't use this recipe again. Is there a trick other cooks used to make the breading stick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Great baked onion ring, satisfied my onion ring craving! I used bowls instead of plastic bags but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The breading stuck to the onions just fine. I think problem people have had with the breading sticking comes from the egg whites not being whipped enough. The foaminess of the egg whites should be very fine, and almost to soft peak stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Photo by Sydney
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
THE TASTE WAS VERY GOOD THE ONLY THING I DIDNT LIKE ABOUT THE RECIPE IS THAT THE BREADING IS HARD TO GET STUCK ONTO THE ONION RINGS. BUT THEY WERE VERY GOOD AND I WILL MAKE AGAIN! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
VERY good. A heathy alternative to a deep fried favorite. I added dome different spices and used some baking powder and flour in the bread crumbs. They came out crunchy and delicious. I also double dipped them into the egg and bread crumbs for a thicker coating. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States