Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not as good as fried obviously, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These were good...followed instructions exactly. Although crispy, some of the coating didn't quite stick. Fried are definitely still my favorite, but since I don't fry at home, these are a nice alternative. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These onion rings turned out fantastic being they are baked! Don't get me wrong, of course fried deliver an entirely different flavor, but this recipe is a wonderful alternative, and healthy too! I used my whisk for the egg whites, I beat until frothy. I also used Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so you may want to cut down on the salt that's added. I love salt so it didn't bother me, but I could see this being salty to others if using seasoned crumbs. I also very lightly greased the baking sheet with olive oil, and it worked great! I will definitely make these often, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These were AMAZING!! I'd give them 10 stars if I could!! I love onion rings but they do NOT fit into my diet so I decided to try these. Even my 5 year old loved them! I made them tonight & he wanted seconds! Since we were out (I scaled down the recipe) he asked if I'd make them tomorrow! I didn't do the bag method - I used 2 bowls. One for the breadcrumbs, one for the egg. I also used egg whites & not the entire egg to make them even more figure friendly. I did double dip them though - dipped in egg then crumbs, back in the egg & back in the crumbs. Had no problems with them sticking either - they were perfect. I didn't have thyme so I used S & P, Paprika & some Garlic Powder. They were FANTASTIC! Thanks for such an awesome recipe - this one will be a staple in my house for appetizer night & football nights! My husband can't wait to try them once he's off night shifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
i liked the recipe and was very easy to make but also had a problem with the crumbs sticking. thought it was my ingredients as i had to use gluten free bread crumbs. otherwise an excellent recipe and thank you. 4 stars to ease and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! This is so much work, though it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I read the reviews first, and I am glad I did. I skipped the bags and just used a couple of bowls for dipping. I beat the eggs only until foamy because I was doing it by hand and I was in a hurry. Being in a hurry I also skipped both the ice water AND refrigeration tips. I used season salt, granulated garlic, and paprika to season my crumbs (just a personal preference, I don't like thyme). While it wasn't a heavy batter I had no trouble getting it to stay on(and I like a thinner crust anyways, so it worked perfect for us), and it baked up nice and crisp, though I did give them a quick spray of Pam before putting them in. My kids and my husband and I loved them, and will definitely have them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I have been a member of this site for years but this is my first review. The reason I feel so compelled to review this recipe is to save others the disappointment, the time and the ingredients necessary to make a total failure of a recipe. I read all other reviews and tried all methods suggested, e.g. 30 minutes in the fridge / double dipping in batter / baking / - even tried frying etc. There is NOTHING that can make this an acceptable version of "Onion Rings". I notice that one other Irish (?) person (dublinireland05) wasn't too complimentary about this dish either! I can't say that Irish people have better onion rings. Some of the best I have tasted have been right here in the US but do yourself a favor and seek another recipe. This is a version I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
suprisingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My husband and I loved these. Used flour rather than bread crumbs and as suggested by another reviewer drizzled with olive oil b/f putting in oven. Also used the hint to refrigerate sliced onions for 30 minutes before processing. Rings were crunchy and delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States