Baked Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not as good as fried obviously, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These were good...followed instructions exactly. Although crispy, some of the coating didn't quite stick. Fried are definitely still my favorite, but since I don't fry at home, these are a nice alternative. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These onion rings turned out fantastic being they are baked! Don't get me wrong, of course fried deliver an entirely different flavor, but this recipe is a wonderful alternative, and healthy too! I used my whisk for the egg whites, I beat until frothy. I also used Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so you may want to cut down on the salt that's added. I love salt so it didn't bother me, but I could see this being salty to others if using seasoned crumbs. I also very lightly greased the baking sheet with olive oil, and it worked great! I will definitely make these often, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These were AMAZING!! I'd give them 10 stars if I could!! I love onion rings but they do NOT fit into my diet so I decided to try these. Even my 5 year old loved them! I made them tonight & he wanted seconds! Since we were out (I scaled down the recipe) he asked if I'd make them tomorrow! I didn't do the bag method - I used 2 bowls. One for the breadcrumbs, one for the egg. I also used egg whites & not the entire egg to make them even more figure friendly. I did double dip them though - dipped in egg then crumbs, back in the egg & back in the crumbs. Had no problems with them sticking either - they were perfect. I didn't have thyme so I used S & P, Paprika & some Garlic Powder. They were FANTASTIC! Thanks for such an awesome recipe - this one will be a staple in my house for appetizer night & football nights! My husband can't wait to try them once he's off night shifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
i liked the recipe and was very easy to make but also had a problem with the crumbs sticking. thought it was my ingredients as i had to use gluten free bread crumbs. otherwise an excellent recipe and thank you. 4 stars to ease and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! This is so much work, though it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I read the reviews first, and I am glad I did. I skipped the bags and just used a couple of bowls for dipping. I beat the eggs only until foamy because I was doing it by hand and I was in a hurry. Being in a hurry I also skipped both the ice water AND refrigeration tips. I used season salt, granulated garlic, and paprika to season my crumbs (just a personal preference, I don't like thyme). While it wasn't a heavy batter I had no trouble getting it to stay on(and I like a thinner crust anyways, so it worked perfect for us), and it baked up nice and crisp, though I did give them a quick spray of Pam before putting them in. My kids and my husband and I loved them, and will definitely have them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I have been a member of this site for years but this is my first review. The reason I feel so compelled to review this recipe is to save others the disappointment, the time and the ingredients necessary to make a total failure of a recipe. I read all other reviews and tried all methods suggested, e.g. 30 minutes in the fridge / double dipping in batter / baking / - even tried frying etc. There is NOTHING that can make this an acceptable version of "Onion Rings". I notice that one other Irish (?) person (dublinireland05) wasn't too complimentary about this dish either! I can't say that Irish people have better onion rings. Some of the best I have tasted have been right here in the US but do yourself a favor and seek another recipe. This is a version I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
suprisingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My husband and I loved these. Used flour rather than bread crumbs and as suggested by another reviewer drizzled with olive oil b/f putting in oven. Also used the hint to refrigerate sliced onions for 30 minutes before processing. Rings were crunchy and delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States