Baked Onion Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Totally scrumptious! Everyone ate this at warp speed! I followed some of the other suggestions and made it with 1 brick of low fat Philly Cream chese, 1/2 cup light mayo, and 1/2 cup low fat sour cream. I didn't find it greasy at all, and neither did anyone else! Great easy fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I made this for a party this weekend. I scaled it down for 12 people. I also did half mayo/half sour cream to cut down on some of the grease. The cheese I used was the shredded Mexican blend and for the topping I used a 5 cheese Italian blend. It was very yummy. 2 of the girls ate that the most. The little bit of grease that was on it, I just blotted with a paper towel. My husband didn't care for it too much, but he is not an onion person. All in all, a very good recipe and super easy. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Made this twice, but seemed to oily. Cut down on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I made this for New Year's Eve, and my friends loved it. I used the tips for making it less greasy, and I did not think the dip was too greasy at all. Also, what I did was scooped the dip into the middle of a hollowed out rye bread, and searved it with rye bread and cut up onion bagels for dipping. Perhaps serving it in bread was what helped the grease factor, maybe the bread sucked up some of the grease. Also, I had chopped up the onions in my food processor, and diced them down so small, that I thought it might not come out very good, but I think the finely diced onions helped evenly spread the punch of onion flavor throughout the dip. My one friend nearly ate the whole thing, she thought it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
LOVE this recipe. I brought to a holiday party last night and so many people wanted the recipe. Plan on making this again for my own family on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I made this for a potluck at work, and my boss was eating this as his main dish with a fork. He couldnt get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
To say this is greasy doesn't even begin to describe it--mine was absolutely floating in grease--even with continual sopping up the grease with a paper towel. I does have good flavor, though--I think I'll try some of the suggestions in earlier reviews about cutting down on the grease. Everyone at my party ate some--but I told them all to go home and take 2 or 3 Zantac!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This recipe is quick, easy, cheap and incredibly good. I made this one Saturday afternoon for friends who were coming over to watch some t.v and just hang out...it was gone within a good 15-20 minutes. For those that complain about the grease, I suggest doing 1 cup mayonaise and 1 cup sour cream to cut down on the grease. You could also use reduced-fat cheddar cheese and mayonaise. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This dip is delicious! Everyone who tried it asked me for the recipe. The best part is that it is very, very easy to make. The second time I made it I was in a rush, so I baked it at 450 for less time and it turned out great. Yes, it is greasy, but I found that sopping up the grease up with a paper towel worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Great dip Dan! We had it with crackers but I'd like to try it with tortilla chips next time. The Boy even licked it up (he hates onions but I think I'm starting to convert him). I was surprised at the amount of people who complained about the grease though. You'd have to expect it when the main ingredients are cheddar cheese and mayonnaise... Like another reveiwer suggested: Just blot it with paper towel. A lil grease every now and then won't hurt ya. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States