Baked Onion Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this recipe at a family gathering and it was a hugh hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 cup sour cream and 1 cup mayo instead of the 2 cups mayo. I did not have any grease what-so-ever as others have stated. I would rate higher if I could. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was very good. I got A LOT of compliments on it. I did change it a little. I only used about a 1/4 cup of mayo. 1/2 cup of sour cream and a block of cream cheese. I used Colby/Jack cheese instead of cheddar. I can't stand parmesan cheese, so I just used a little more of the colby/jack. It was not greasy AT ALL with the adjustments that I used. I will be making this again for family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Watch out......loads of grease. I followed what it said and although the flavor of the recipe was good it was hard to get to because of the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Some people liked it but I didn't think it had much taste - very bland. I would maybe try spicing it up again but add cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My mom makes a similar dip... unfortunately she was out of town during my Christmas party so I had to use all-recipies to improvise and it turns out great! Better, in fact, with the helpful tip of halving the mayo and adding cream cheese... no oil whatsoever! Amazed. Also add some chopped garlic, Worchester Sauce, parm cheese, old cheddar. Sprinkle some extra cheese on top for a brown and delicious layer. Huge hit, even with those who do not like mayo or onions (strange enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Excellent for impressing guests. I tried one of the reviewer's suggestions to do halfmayo/halfsourcream. I accidently dumped all the parm in and mixed before baking. AND YET... All the women at the dinner party wanted this recipe! AND I have to bring it to our Thanksgiving dinner by mom's request!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
EXCELLENT RECIPE!! I used one cup mayo and one cup sour cream instead of all mayo. Everybody loved it in rye bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Everytime I have served this recipe, there is soon to be nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Ok, follow the recipe exact...but it is incredibly greasy. I was literally using the turkey baster to get out all of the grease. It makes you sick to look at it. Confession---it tastes soooooo good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I am sorry, we did not enjoy. Too much grease from cheese. I had to drain the dip before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States