Baked Onion Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This dip was such a hit at our last get together! Based on other reviewers comments about it being a little oily, instead of the 2 cups of mayonaise, I put a block of softened low-fat cream cheese and 8-oz of low fat sour cream into a 2-cup measuring cup and topped it off with mayonaise to make 2 cups. I also used sweet Vidalia onions. This was so-o-o good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
AWESOME - AWESOME! JUST TASTED THIS DIP AT A NEIGHBORHOOD OUTTING, BUT IT WAS MADE WITH 2 CUPS EACH OF VIDALIA ONIONS, MAYO AND SWISS CHEESE. PAPRIKA ON TOP FOR COLOR. I DON'T LIKE SWISS AT ALL, BUT YOU NEVER WOULD HAVE GUESSED IT. SERVED WARM WITH TORTILLA CHIPS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I have made this dip for several gatherings and it's always well received. I've experimented with how big to cut the onions and a medium chop seems to work best. I've found that the dip doesn't really reheat well--tends to separate. A great recipe though. Very quick and easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was great Noreen! - The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars, what that the onions were a little 'undone'... I did make a 2nd time and sauteed the onions on medium heat for about 10 minutes. I also added red pepper flakes. RAVE REVIEWS!!! So easy, so delicious! Definitely a pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funky munky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
A bit on the oily side for my taste. However it was very tasty. I used Vidalia onion and green onion. I think I'll try this again to see if half mayo and half sour cream cuts the oiliness. Thanks Noreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Oh my goodness! A recipe couldn't be more delicious or simple. My guests almost licked the bowl clean....... I mixed it up the day before a dinner and just popped it in the oven before my guests arrived. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is simply the best dip I've ever made. I've had rave reviews from everyone who has tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
JUST A LITTLE TIP: if you over cook any dip that is creamy and cheesy the oil will seperate, so keep a close eye on them when there almost done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Dont you just hate when people say... "Well, I changed this and I changed that and it was just okay for me - then they give it a bad rating?" Yeah, I hate that too. This was a great dip! Simple, quick and delicious. Thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
All I can say is yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States