Baked Onion Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We've used this recipe to demonstrate the family farm's sweet onions at markets and trade shows. The recipe really needs very sweet onions, such as Vidalia, WallaWalla, PA Sweets, etc. The recipe takes well to low-fat mayo, and we often use grated low-fat Jarlsberg mixed with a little Parmesan. A teaspoon or more of a no-salt herb blend (such as Ms Dash, Spike, etc) really jazzes up the flavor. Just blot off any fat that rises to the surface. We've had people ask to buy the extra pans of dip. Sells a lot of onions!! And if there are any leftovers, it makes a great scalloped potato casserole addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I make this with shredded cheddar. It's fabulous. Always a hit at a party.I dice the onions into small peices and I don't spray the pan. As for being "oily", I think that's what keeps it nice and smooth even after 2 hours out of the oven, if it lasts that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is great as a dip but I took it and added imitation crab meat plus a little Tony Chacherie's. Then I baked some fish coated with Italian bread crumbs and served the fish with the "dip" on top. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is such a hit! I am asked to bring it back over and over. I like to carmelize the onions before adding to the mayo. & cheese & then bake the dip in a crusty bread bowl. Don't overcook and you'll have virtually no oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Was first introduced to this dip many years ago by my friends in England. Have made it for many occasions, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe is easy to make and usually one of the first gone. I serve it any time we entertain a large crowd. Try it with Swiss Cheese instead of Parmesan...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We thought this was just ok. I made half a recipe. I won't make it again, but it was good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This dip was DELICIOUS!!!!! My husband can't eat mayonnaise so instead I put in 1 8oz. package of low-fat cream cheese and 1 cup of sour cream and served it with homemade sweet bread, it turned out perfect and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wonderful- halved the recipe for 6 with leftovers- great with whole wheat taco chips I used half light mayo and half light sour cream and there was no grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I halved the recipe for a small group and used reduced fat olive oil mayonnaise. I also found I was out of parmesan, so I used cheddar. It was still wonderful, gobbled up by everyone, and not greasy in the slightest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States