Baked Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
So easy and wonderful! Light & fluffy. I would put it on the higher rack in your oven to keep the bottom from browning so drastically. I added leftover broccoli from last night's dinner and the hubby thought I slaved for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I love this recipe. I did change it some by using bacon instead of ham and parm. cheese instead of the moz. Omitted the onions and sprinkled extra chedder and chives on top just before it was done. Served it with chopped tomatoes on top. The basic recipe is wonderful because there are so many ways you can fix it. Next time I'm thinking asparagus and fresh mushrooms. Yum! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
update: So much better than a regular omelet. Today I used 6 eggs, some browned sausage, 3/4 cup of milk and one chopped green onion. I reduced the cheese just a bit and used 3/8 tsp seasoned salt. Turned out to be a little too much salt. I think a dash of hot sauce would have been great, but didn't think of it this morning. I used an 8 inch pie pan and baked for 35-40 minutes. Original review: This is a tasty and easy recipe. I like that it is also a great recipe for making substitutions based on what I have in the frig. Today I made it with parmesean as other have suggested (NOT the powdery kind in a shaker) instead of mozzarella and used some sour cream in place of half of the milk. Also added a few chives, about 1 teaspoon summer savory, and some dried parsley to the seasonings. Left out the ham and served it with sausage links. This is now a Sunday morning treat at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This is a great recipe! I modified the original ingredients by adding a little more ham. I also added mushrooms and onions which I sauteed in butter and seasoned with garlic salt (8 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms and a medium white onion) in place of the minced onion. I made it for my wife and kids on Mother's Day and the whole family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Excellent! Mine took 1 hour to bake. The glass dish made it perfect and it kept warm well. Once I let it sit for a few minutes, it formed a nice shape. I used bacon and greased the glass dish with a touch of the bacon grease for added flavor. Moist and delicious. Many variations including diet and non diet versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
LOVE IT! But confused by the number of people who were put off by the photograph...you can add your own picture of your creation! It clearly says photo 1 of 17...and many reviews state how they add thier own ingredients, making it a family favorite. That's why we love it! Whatever veggies or meats or cheeses are in the pantry go into the omlete! It is a good solid recipe as is, but a great base to use up leftovers or items that are in need of use. A frequent breakfast for dinner in our home! And the reviewer who gave it 1 star without even trying the recipe based on the mushrooms in the photo that aren't listed in the recipe...shame on you. Your comment is a true waste of allrecipes.com users time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
I made this for friends and received rave reviews. I served large portions and everyone cleaned their plate. It turns out light like a soufflé. I like it better than the heavy casseroles with bread in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I just happened to get this recipe in my email today so thought I would make it for Christmas brunch. I used chopped crispy bacon instead of ham and I added a small can each of sliced mushrooms and green chilies. It was excellent and will certainly fix it the next time we have overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
What a way to clean out the fridge! Deceptively delicious considering how easy it is, in spite of my modifications: 1) Sauteed a little bit of chopped up onion, one minced garlic clove and a little bit of chopped green pepper in olive oil; 2) Added that to the egg & cheese mixture; 3) Used left-over ham deli meat; 4) Did NOT add seasoning salt since the ham is salty enough; 5) Added some canned peas and one can of diced tomatoes. Yum! One note...this did take 1 hour to cook in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I happened to have all the ingredients already on hand so thought I would surprise my hubby with breakfast (that doesn't happen very often). He was pleasantly surprised. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but it is easy to adapt to your own taste. I like the suggestion of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States