Baked Omelet Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
YUM! I did add some fresh garlic and chopped red pepper and I sauteed them with the onion and fresh mushrooms (instead of canned). I wanted a creamier egg filling, so I used fat free evaporated milk. No jalapeno peppers so I used one 4 oz. can of diced mild green chilies. I added just a touch of dijon mustard and a little Frank's Hot Sauce, as I add that to most of my egg dishes. My family LOVED this. What the boys and I didn't eat, my husband did and my littlest had seconds. Very simple--it literally was ready to go in less than 15 minutes. What's great about it is it's totally bendable to use what you have on hand and make it personal to your favorite omelette fillings. Next time, I'm going to try this with homemade turkey breakfast "sausage".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great recipe but I found that I had to add a couple more eggs & a tad more milk to the egg mixture to fill up the dish. I added mini sweet peppers and fresh spinach. Instead of sauteing the onion in the beginning I just through all of the veggies in the pan, covered with egg mixture then topped with black olives and mushrooms. I didn't add cheese since I would rather use it as a light garnish in the end. It did lack some flavor since the only seasoning is salt & pepper but nothing a little Tabasco sauce couldn't fix! Overall, I just love the flexibility of this dish and now I don't have to make eggs every single morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ira
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A nice, “unfancy” baked omelet that cuts and serves nicely and leaves lots of room for tinkering with different ingredients. I used fresh mushrooms and added some chopped fresh broccoli. I wasn’t comfortable with the high baking temperature and, while I’m sure it would have worked out fine, I nevertheless reduced the temperature to 350 degrees and baked it until set and a little golden, about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very nice recipe. Is good enough to serve guests and quick to make. Able to use what you have on hand and have some give to the recipe. I didn't use jalapenos and maybe I should have, mine seemed a little bland. Just brought spices and hot sauce to table and was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I tried this for the first time and the family love it! Although I did add cooked hash browns as my first layer--Omelets need hash browns It turned out great! I did use sauages since I didn't have ham, but this is an omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this twice...the first time I followed the recipe exactly, but ommited the ham & peppers. The second time I used spinach. Very good & very easy to make it. My hubby said he could eat this for breakfast, lunch & dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was so good and so easy! I figured we could tailor this to our personal omelet tastes and it seemed to work great. Instead of ham I used 16 oz. bulk pork sausage. While I was browning it, I added the onion plus chopped green peppers and fresh mushrooms (since that's what we had in the fridge) - didn't need the butter, just used the fat released from the sausage. I left out the jalapeno but added the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese left in the bag to the top of the casserole. The cheese on the bottom becomes a delightfully chewy crust. Served with lots of ketchup to rave reviews. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made it for a church breakfast and everybody wanted the recipe. A lady just called to ask if this can be made the night before and kept in the refrigerator so she can pop it into the oven first thing the next morning. How about it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
When making this recipe, I thought to myself that I wanted a flaky crust for it! so I got a crescent sheet and baked it first in the bottom of the baking dish ... I then topped the baked crust with the meat and veggies and cheese, and poured the egg on top. Well, my crust then floated. I figured oh well, I'm gonna bake it anyways and see how it turns out. Fantastic! It looked a little odd at first, and I had to poke it because it looked like I was baking a giant ham!! LoL! Well, the egg kind of cooked into the crescent, and it turned out great! I will definitely be making this over and over! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the best egg dish I've ever tasted. The only thing I changed was I used half egg beaters and half eggs. I also added red and green peppers . I also sprinkled some of the cheese on top. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States