Baked Omelet Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I don't normally rate a recipe before I make it. However, this one; can't believe I hadn't thought of this before! I love to make omelets for breakfast, however I always wind up eating last and by then everyone else is done and most times I eat alone :( Not anymore, this is going to be great. Next weekend, oven omelet it will be....and as others have said, the combo's are endless. Great week night quick dinner using up leftovers too. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I wasn't crazy about the texture of this...so next time I'll reduce the amount of flour. My husband liked it, but he'll eat anything! ;-) It was incredibly easy. I added chopped bell pepper and mushrooms before I rolled it up...next time I'll use ham and onions also. My jelly roll pan was too large, so I used some of the no-stick aluminum foil to line it with, making it a little smaller than the pan, and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Love this technique - Thanks for such a very flexible recipe. Green eggs and mushrooms? I cut the flour to 1/4 C and blended in about a cup of cut up broccoli/onion, which gave the egg its green color. Baked at 400 for about 10 minutes. Used buttered parchment in a glass pan in my rather hotter than standard oven. Melted cheddar in a little bacon grease and spread it and a half cup of sliced mushrooms cooked in 1 tsp butter lengthwise on the baked egg mixture. Rolled up lengthwise using the parchment for assistance. Could have used more seasoning/spices; less broccoli and more onion. Next time - and there will be a next time - I'll skip the bacon and butter and maybe even some of the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this recipe this morning and it was a hit! I changed a few things to my taste. 1. I used heavy cream instead of milk. 2. I used about 1/4 cup of flour with a little water to make sure it mixed in properly. 3. Added dried herbs and spices (any will do). Blend away! Heated oven to 400 degrees instead so I could be sure not to over bake my magic eggs;). While waiting for oven, I grilled up a little onion, crisped some bacon and mixed those bad boys up on the side. Followed recipe at this point and made sure to PAM the heck out of my Pyrex(this was key). Ok, back to my style, at about the 10 minute mark, I added a thin layer of blue cheese, bacon,onion, and sharp cheddar cheese. Don't over do it! You have to roll this thing remember. I finished in oven (about 12 more minutes). I checked for the jiggle in da middle, if you know what I mean to make sure it was done(no jiggle=done). Last but not least, I cut up some avocado and added it at the end. Pull edges away from sides and slide out onto a cutting board. Gently roll and sprinkle with more cheese on top. Now go wow the mouthes waiting for you! Good luck!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We loved it! We like our omelette full and spicy, so I added some dry mustard and hot sauce to the egg mixture. For the filling, I sautéed some onions and broccoli. Before rolling I spread the veggies, then the cheese. It was beautiful and delicious. My husband doused his with salsa. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is definitely a keeper in our house. Thanks to the comments of others I was able to have a successful experience the first time out. Cut the flour in half; used half water and half milk; put the egg mixture in a parchment-lined jelly roll pan; cut the oven temperature and cooking time back; and added a layer of sauteed ingredients after it came out of the oven and before rolling (green onions, celery, green peppers, fresh mushrooms and diced ham) along with the cheese. Next time I plan to add some spinach, too. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonbelly Farm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have used this technique for over 25 + years (minus the flour) and in many restaurants during my career. Variations such as spinach, sausage, roasted red peppers are to name a few. pleasing to the eye and the tummy as well. Try lining the pan w/ either foil or parchment to solve sticking problems. Chef Spencer Shadden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I definitely agree with the other reviews when saying it is too much flour. It rose very high when baking. It settled just enough for me to fold it over into half like an omelet. I cut the recipe down by half so that I wouldn't make as much and I cooked it in a glass pie pan. It took 15 mins to cook and I added sausage while cooking and chopped tomatoes when done. After folding the omelet I topped it with salsa. It actually ended up being great to eat but the recipe needed rewriting a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Tried this today. Guys liked it. I used Baby Swiss cheese. Liked like a giraffe coat when I took it out of oven. Thought it had too much flour in it? I need to read other reviews. Best thing? It's EASY to do! Will try it again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yummy! Super easy and we could all eat at the same time. I added more cheese and ham that I had leftover! 20 minutes is way too long. It only took about 12~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Baked Omelet Squares

Savory squares of baked eggs, mushrooms, olives, ham, jalapenos, and cheese.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States