Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This was really yummy, and has already been requested twice! However, I modified the recipe to my family's tastes. As suggested by previous reviewers, I used homemade applesauce in place of the oil called for. Also added molasses, and used between 4-8 Tbs. water instead of eggs.(Didn't measure the amount of liquid. Just eyeballed it. I needed the extra liquid b/c I also added one large chopped apple, and 1/2 c chopped almonds.) Substituted almond milk for the milk, and used Rumford's non-aluminum baking powder. I omitted the raisins and used a handful of dry cranberries instead. Omitted the brown sugar topping, and added more cinnamon, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
745 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I love this recipe. I need to eat more oatmeal and this recipe makes it so yummy! I change it slightly, using applesauce instead of oil and I use 1/4 cup of white sugar, then 1/2 of brown. And I add a can of fruit (peaches are great!) and some chopped walnuts. It fills me up for hours! Great with just the spray butter or if you want to pour milk on it, why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This recipe is a definite winner - our whole family loves it! It's a great breakfast dish to make when you have overnight guests. I often double the recipe and bake it in an 11x14 glass baking dish (using 1 c white and 1 c brown sugar). You can easily mix this up the night before, cover with plastic, stick it in the fridge, and simply bake it in the morning whenever you wake up. NOTE: To avoid breaking my cold glass baking dish by placing it in a hot oven, I put the cold dish into the oven BEFORE I turn the oven on (that way the dish and the oven slowly heat at the same time). If I'm baking this oatmeal staight from the fridge, I'll increase the baking time a bit (about 45-50 minutes for a single recipe or 60-75 minutes for the 11x14 size double recipe), otherwise I use the time given in the recipe. Mmm-Mmm!, great on a chilly morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This was nice and cakey and had a great flavor. I did sub applesauce for the oil. Next time I will try pumpkin puree and add some spices. I hate regular oatmeal and love eating this so it gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
I did not like oatmeal for breakfast - until now. It's got the texture of rice but tastes more like dessert. I reduced the amount of sugar to half a cup and it is still plenty. I also make & bake it in the morning (haven't left it overnight in refrigerator) and it is still great. My 3 year old will eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! I will make it at least once a week from now on. If you're not a oatmeal eater - try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I ordered baked oatmeal for the first time this morning at a restaurant. It was so good that I immediately looked in All Recipes for a similar dish when I got home. This one looks close except the restaurant put blueberries and diced peaches in with the oatmeal. They served it with cream and brown sugar on the side. It was wonderful. I will try making this recipe and add the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Family liked this. It is dry like a crumbly cake texture, but when you pour the milk on, it brings it all together. And with some butter on top, Mmm, Mmm, Mmm. I am also going to try this with apples and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was great. As a topping/side dish, I made Jenny's Sauteed Apples (type "Sauteed Apples" in the search), and it was perfect. My mom wants me to make it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This is really a unique way to serve oatmeal.I added cinnamon and 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar in with the egg and milk mixture.Also used Old Fashioned oats for coarser texture. Baked it in a lightly oiled 8X8 square pan. It sets up enough that it maintains the cut shape. I cut in squares and served with milk and a tad of sugar over it. We will enjoy this occasionally for breakfast. I still prefer my oatmeal the regular way, though. Thanks Tracy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Great recipe! My 2 year old won't touch it, but she doesn't like oatmeal anyway. But I like it! It is a lot more grainy, and less mushy than most oatmeal recipes, which appeals to me. I substituted applesauce for the oil. I have made it with raisins and without, both great. I usually serve it with apples or pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States