Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Awesome breakfast alternative! I made it using the applesauce substitute for the oil that was recommended in many of the reviews. Used ½ cup brown sugar and ¼ cup white sugar – the sweetness is perfect with this combination. I had buttermilk in the refrigerator, so used that instead of milk, which worked out well. Per family request ½ cup crasins, ½ cup walnuts and 1 Tablespoon apple pie spice (recipe found here for the apple pie spice) were mixed in, and baked in a 9 x 9 baking pan. This is a definite keeper recipe that is loaded with other possible fruit, nut and spice combination possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Sounded like a cool recipe but we were disappointed. Good flavor but dry and crumbly. Not worth the effort. Sorry, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Not really crazy about this one - kind of dry. I guess I'm used to the old fashioned oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this as written...can you imagine that? If you like oatmeal, as my wife does it was a winner. Bottom line is it's basically a bowl of oatmeal, baked. The baking adds a warm earthy note that plain oatmeal doesn't have. A review of the ingredients will tell you there are not a lot of "flavor" ingredients (vanilla, cinnamon...maple syrup...etc), so no surprise that everyone is adding and adjusting to suit their taste. Which makes this a fun basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made a 1/2 batch and now regret it. We only have one piece left and only me & my child has had any "today". I cut the sugar(s) by a 3rd and used mostly brown sugar with a hint of white sugar. I don't like raisins so I used frozen raspberries and used wild berry applesauce instead of oil. I also added a little cinnamon to the mixture. Will definitely be making this on a regular basis. LOVE IT. I think of it more as a dessert than a breakfast. Of course that could be because I topped my daughters with a little cool-whip. But she loved it without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I liked it alot. I still prefer to make my oatmeal in the slow cooker overnight while I sleep just because it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Gave it 5 stars just because. I will make this,, just the way it is printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I first had this when I visited a college several years ago. The students who hardly eat anything of value would literally "eat it up." However, now that I'm on a cardiac diet, I very much appreciated Whirldpeas information. I was looking for a recipe that I could adapt to something as wonderful as baked oatmeal. Thank you Whirldpeas. And just know for those who found his review objectionable, there are those of us who appreciated it. I know I'm one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I also used cinn applesauce and it was wonderful, I used stevia 3 packets, it was awesome and would make a great dessert with cool whip or ice cream omit the sugar and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top next time I will toast some walnuts to sprinkle on top as well Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Always a winner when I make a batch and take it to the family in Augusta, GA. I make for me and the hubby and portion it for the freezer. Add milk and nuke it and it's super satisfying. Try adding pecans and cran-raisins....love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITE11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States