Baked Oatmeal I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Wow, this is so good! I made this for the first time for a weekend breakfast for my family. I wasn't sure how well it would go over since it is oatmeal - not exactly my son's favorite. Also, he had a couple of friends sleep over (11 yr olds). I knew I could whip up some pancakes if it wasn't good. The kids loved it! It is similar in taste to oatmeal cookies right out of the oven. It's so easy since it is mixed up the night before. We have since had it again on a busy school morning. I get up to walk the dogs before my kids, so I put it in the oven before I leave. By the time I return and wake up the kids, it is just about ready. Just take it out of the oven, put some bread in the toaster and breakfast is ready! It's a really good start to the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I was really surprised at how delicious this recipe is. I made it for overnight guests and they went nuts for it. I doubled the recipe and they ate the entire first batch for breakfast. My husband came home late that night and ate almost 1/2 the second batch and he is not a big sweet eater. I made the recipe exactly as written switching only cranraisins for raisins and added a bit of chopped pecan for texture. This is a new family recipe. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynznest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I made it this morning, it was pretty good. I'm sure it would have been better if the whole dish was moist. I'm sure it was b/c I had to use a 13X9 (next smallest available) since the 8X8, per other reviews, would have been too small. I will definitely make this again. Next time I will cut back on the sugar, try different fruit, and let it set over night. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Just okay for us. I prefer the texture of oatmeal cooked in the microwave or on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Way too much baking powder. I thought it was too much but decided to follow the recipe. Big mistake. Has an overall baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was good, but not sweet enough to me. Next time, I'm going to add even more cinnamon (I used a whole tablespoon) and use a cup of Splenda instead of the sugar. I made mine in a 5 x 9 pan. I should have cut the amount or used a bigger pan. It really expanded as it cooked and I thought it was a little too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Soooooo good! My husband who claimed not to like oatmeal even loved it. I did make some changes based on other reviews. I read one review that said that reviewing a recipe you've changed is rude but I think thats what makes all recipes so great! And you can change it to suit your needs. Changes I made: 1. I halfed the recipe. 2. I used a bottle of baby applesauce instead of oil (great way to use up those jars that my 13 month old son won't eat! He also loved this recipe btw) 3. I used almond milk instead of regular (I'm watching calories) 5. I used 1/3 cup sugar...two Tbsp of white and 3 of brown and then sprinkled about 2 tsp on top. 6. I added 1 tsp of vanilla. 7. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon in the mix as well as sprinkling it on top. I cooked it in a square 8X8 inch pan. I cut that into four servings. Each of the four servings has 205 calories and 2g of fat. Super healthy. When I pulled it out of the oven i poured just a little milk to cool it off, the milk absorbed and it was so delish. Was like eating cake for breakfast. I eat a lot of oatmeal so it's nice to have another version that still is low in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really good. My family loves oatmeal, generally old fashioned, not the quick cooking. Using that kind of oatmeal gave it a hearty, but still moist and yummy texture. I used cinnamon applesauce in place of the oil. I used craisins since it was the spur of the moment and that's all we had on hand. I would make it again, but I would used less sugar and add vanilla and more dried fruit. This is breakfast on the go or sure. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and got nine squares/servings. I sent the recipe to mom and sis too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Not bad. We don't eat a lot of oatmeal in the house. This was definitely a good twist. We didn't have raisins on hand but we did have a bag of frozen strawberries that turned out to be delicious in the oatmeal. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardlovesong

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was wonderful! I have had baked oatmeal out and tried to recreate it unsuccessfully; this was exactly it. Texture is cross between muffin and fluffy oatmeal cookie. I made it with butter instead of oil and baked in muffin pan. Replaced raisins with dried cherries and splash of almond extract, and served hot in a bowl with half-half. YUM. Will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States