Baked Mushroom Thighs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This chicken was delicious! The golden brown crust was crunchy and sealed the juices into the chicken. I prepared this using 10 chicken legs, which I first seasoned with Fiesta brand Chicken Rub (available in Texas). Because of cross-contamination concerns with the raw chicken, I changed the method of preparation. In a shallow bowl, I mixed the 1 cup of dry bread crumbs, the ½ tsp of onion powder, and the 1 tsp of dried parsley. In a separate bowl, I added ½ can of the mushroom soup only. I rolled my seasoned chicken into the mushroom soup then rolled into the dry crumb mix. This allowed the crumb mixture to adhere to the chicken resulting in a delicious crust. I drizzled with the 2 TBLs of melted butter, and baked as instructed. I used the other ½ can of the mushroom soup and a ½ can of milk to make gravy, which we served over white rice. My husband loved this meal! Thank you Doris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
My husband and I loved this dish! I used boneless and skinless chicken thighs. I also added fresh cracked pepper, garlic powder, and paprika. As for the concern of using the soup mixture after the raw chicken had been in it, I set aside about 1 1/2 cups before dipping the chicken. We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great recipe! Here's what I did: I took 1/4c can mushroom soup and a cup of milk and whisked them together. I also added garlic salt for flavor. I trimmed the fat off the chicken thighs (which I think are better than chicken breast b/c the bone holds in all the flavor). In a separate bowl I mixed a packet of onion soup mix and a 3/4c breadcrumbs. Dipped the thighs in the soup mix then rolled it in the dry mix. I placed them on a wire rack over a pan and sprayed it with spray butter. Cooked it at 375 for 45 mins. Was cooked perfectly. I took the remaining soup, whisked in a cup of milk (added more garlic salt to taste), and about 2 tsp of cornstarch. I did everything to taste/look. I cooked rice and some steamed asparagus with it. Great meal no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleR33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I was searching for an easy and tasty dish using chicken thighs, and I was very pleased with this recipe. I recommend removing the skin from the thighs as the crumbs will stick better. I used reduced fat cream of mushroom soup and 8 oz of skim milk for a light version. I also recommend Italian seasoned bread crumbs for extra flavor. This is a nice dish served with flavored couscous and pinto beans. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was really good! Everyone liked it. The only thing I did differently was to add some onion soup mix (dry) to the bread crumbs to punch up the flavor. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe is simple and delicious. To the mushroom soup, I added garlic powder along with the onion powder. I also added some Mrs. Dash because I didn't have any dried parsley. I seasoned the bread crumbs with salt and pepper, and still didn't find the end product too salty. I decided not to make the sauce, because I don't like the thought of eating a sauce that I previously used to dip raw chicken pieces in...even if I am going to boil it! All in all, my family loved this and I'll add this to my rotation. Thanks Doris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Incredibly yummy comfort food recipe, very easy and minimal work - great for busy weekdays when you just want to throw something in the oven and relax after coming home. I usually put on the rice cooker while popping the chicken in the oven and voila! Dinner is ready within an hour, and mama has time for a glass of wine and an episode of something while it cooks. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
After reading all the reviews I decided to try it. I used unseasoned bread crumbs but added a tiny bit of parmesan cheese to the crumbs. I used boneless thighs. It was so easy! My 12 year old liked it without the sauce, while my husband and I enjoyed the sauce. I made it a second time, this time with italian seasoned bread crumbs and actually preferred it with the unseasoned. You need to go with your family preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I doubled this recipe so we could have left overs. Good thing since it was a big hit. I removed the skin from my thighs to cut back on the greasiness. I added about 1/4 cup sour cream to the soup/milk mixture for added kick. Served it with mashed potatoes and a green vegie. Didn't use the cornstarch as the "gravy" was thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I switched it up a bit and used low fat milk, butter, and soup. This dish was delicious and very easy. I didn't have to go to the store to buy anything, I had everything I needed at home. The chicken stayed really moist, while the skin was nice and crisp. I served this with stuffing which worked great with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States