Baked Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Recipe can't be right. 2 c. uncooked rice with only 1 can soup and 1 c. broth is no where near enough liquid. I added 3 c. chicken broth and then heated it for 10 minutes in the microwave before putting it in the oven so it would be ready when the rest of the meal was ready. Flavor was OK and recipe was easy but if that's only 6 servings they're huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Big hit at my house. I sauteed the onions, garlic, and about 1 cup of mushrooms first. Used minute rice, the can of mushroom soup, 1 cup chicken broth, and added about 1/4 cup of milk too. Used the oregeno and parsley. Didn't take long to bake. Came out rich and creamy. Absolutely Yummy! Will make again and again. Probably will experiment with different flavors of soups, and various veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
was really great, but i used 1 cup milk and added parmesean cheese. and additional broth-total 4 cup liquid with regular rice. microwaved 10 min. high then 15 min at med.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I read previous reviews and opted to use instant rice and 2 Cups of vegetable broth. I also sauteed the onions, garlic and mushrooms before adding to the rice mixture and used marjoram instead of oregano. We really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
When I finally got the dish totally cooked, it was delicious. However, I had to microwave for probably an additional 20 minutes overall, adding more broth and condensed soup when necessary. In the end, the mix of flavours was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This was easy to make and uses a lot of ingredients that many keep on hand. Regretfully I didn't add the mushrooms as I was afraid they would draw complaints from the younger family members. I would have liked to had them in it. I read the reviews about taking longer to cook. As a result I left mine in the oven quite a bit longer than called for. I didn't pay attention and I was afraid that I had really overcooked it. The edges were a little crispy but my husband said he really liked that part. I would make this again expecially because it was so easy. It smelled really good while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Very good.... After reading the reviews, I elected to simply cut the raw rice by half. I used good old long grain. I really wasn't paying a lot of attention to the cooking time, but I checked it a couple of times and stirred it. I blew off using the oregano (too lazy to look for it in the cabinet) I did use a lot more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This was the best side dish!I nad to cook it 3 nights in a row-everybody loved it so much!Isubstituted oregano with marjoram and put much more mushrooms in it-great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Following some other reviews, I first cooked mushrooms, onions, and butter in a pan; then added spices. Used two cups of broth as well as a cup of milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Add a little more water. Great dish! The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States