Baked Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I took the time to read the reviews before I made this and I think I made a compromise that could help those who didn't care for it. I sauteed the rice (I used basmatti) in a little olive oil and butter till it was translucent, thus cooking it a bit. I than used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of the 1 cup of vegetable broth called for. I also used marjoram instead of oregano, majoram has a similar flavor but is a bit "mellower" and more rounded. I than covered it with foil as it cooked and it came out perfect. Oh, and I also lowered the cooking temp to 375 and cooked it for the time indicated. I think with these small tweaks this recipe is really wonderful and was well liked by myself and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
After reading all the reviews, it became apparent the recipe writer meant to use minute rice,not long cooking rice. Adjusting the water for regular rice and covering it makes a world of difference. Tasty enough for you to try, just alter the water depending on if you have quick rice or regular rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Wonderful. I put in chopped leftover steak and had it for a main dish and then a side dish later. Even the kids loved it and getting them to appreciate rice isn't easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
When cooking rice, the liquid to rice ratio is 2:1, or 2 c. liquid for every 1 c. rice. Since the recipe calls for 2 c. rice, I used 4 c. water and just added 2 bouillion cubes. I cooked the rice on the stovetop, sauteed the onions and mushrooms, and then combined everything with the soup and parsley, salt, and pepper. I omitted the oregano. I served without baking since everything was heated by the hot rice. I enjoyed it the way I cooked it but the recipe is definitely off a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Wow, this dish was soooooo good. My family wanted more rice then meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I was so glad to read that others had trouble with it. I was making it for a party and had no time to nurse it along. It turned out horrible. Well, live and learn, I feel better knowing I was not the only one. Thanks tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Very flavorful, but DRY! COVER THE DISH TO BAKE!!! Next time, I'll also add a whole can of vegetable broth instead of just 1 cup. It's a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this for thanksgiving, and it was awsome! I made it as directed, but added more mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of vegetable, as i couldn't find the vegetable...I forgot to add the butter, and put in on last-minute while in the oven-added alittle more of the herbs, too...Had to add an extra cup of water, and stirred it occasionally to mix around the liquids-this is as good as, or better than pre-packaged rice, and uses ingredients i always have handy! It takes alittle watching, but its worth it! ~Kelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
The flavor of this recipe was okay, but I didn't care for the texture of the final product. Oh well, nice try anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This smells really great when it's cooking but was a bit of a disappointment to eat. The spices sort of overpower the taste. My boyfriend loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States