Baked Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Just wasn't a hit at our house. I made the mistake of using instant rice, so my rice was done before my onion cooked. I also thought the oregano taste over powered everything else. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I am glad that I read the reviews before making this dish. I made the following changes and substitutions. It was a huge hit! Turned out great! I sauted half a medium sized onion, half a clove of garlic (could add more..I definitely will add more next time), and 2 huge chopped up portobello mushrooms (again, could have added more..yum!) in the 1/4 cup of butter. I added the spices to the onion/mushroom mix. Following the suggestion of another reviewer, I substituted marjoram for the oregano. I used a 1/2 tsp of marjoram, but could have added more. I lightly sauted the rice (uncooked jasmine rice) in a touch of olive oil in a separate pan. (I do think this step could be skipped...I was following the advice of another reviewer) While those things were sauteeing, I mixed my wet ingredients. I used the entire can (2 cups) of chicken broth (I couldn't find vege broth), the can of mushroom soup and a cup and a half of milk. I whisked that all together and added the rice and mushroom/onion mix. I had to put this in a bigger pan (13x9) and covered in foil and baked at 350 for exactly 30 minutes. My oven bakes hot so it probably was really 375. The portobellos were tasty, but they did give the rice a brown look. All in all, with the ammendments, it was tasty and a hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I also read all the reviews, but wanted a recipe that could be baked in the oven. I used the whole can of broth, added more mushrooms and increased the baking time. I liked the spices, so didn't change them. Regular rice was fine. I served it with "Weeknight Chicken Cordon Bleu" for bunko and all the ladies loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Well i must say im extremely glad i read the reviews before making this dish! after reading the reviews i decided to omit both the parsley and oregano, and i decided to cook the rice first stove top, i had no minute rice so i used regular. I also sauteed the onion in with the butter, then after the rice had cooked i added the butter/onion mixture, the soup( i added about 1/4 cup of milk to tone the soup flavour down a bit) and some pepper and garlic powder, i found it salty enough as it was. I then put it in the oven for 20 minutes and it tasted excellent!! just a few modifications and this is a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I just finished struggling with this recipe with after cooking it for an hour. It still tasted raw and the flavor was awful. I followed the recipe and can't imagine why it was ineatable. Skip this recipe. Don't listen to anyone comments because I tried it wine and adding more liquid and it still wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This dish tastes good, but the recipe as is seems to require some adjustments, hence the lower rating. It's been said before: more liquid! A 2 to 1 ratio of liquid to (normal not minute) rice is right on. (Try using some white wine! Yum!) I also reduced the heat to about 350 and kept the casserole covered. Saute-ing the onion and mushrooms together in the butter first was also a good suggestion I followed. I doubled the amount of mushrooms, 'cause I love 'em. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I am giving this a 1 because the measuremnets and cooking instructions are way off! But if you follow the advice of other reviewers(wish I had read the reviews before I tried it) it will come out good! Definitely cook the rice first or use Minute rice then combine other ingredients-using 1/2t or less of oregano and this will be good. 2 cups of uncooked rice is enough for at least 8 hungry people and you woould need at least 4 cups of liguid to cook it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I did have to make a couple of changes. I didn't have a can of chicken broth. so I added all the broth from a 19 oz can of progresso chicken with wild rice. I also used powdered onion as I was out of reg onion. it is absolutely outta this world this way. (p.s. I also don't measure exactly, just approximating the amts of seasonings I use)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was pretty good although the oregano is a little overpowering. The only variation I used was 2 chicken bullion in a cup of water instead of vegetable broth. In the future I will likely leave out the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States