Baked Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was just alright. I added some chopped mushrooms and garlic powder. I also backed down the temp to 350 and baked for 30 minutes. Rice was done but starting to dry out. Didn't have any broth left so I added some milk. It was fine just not great...but we sho ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was really good when I used it in-place of a wild rice mix inside of game hens. I cooked the rice first then stuffed it into the raw hens and continued to cook the hens and rice for about an hour and a half - the reason I'm giving it four stars though is because I think the rice that was out of the chicken that soaked up the extra spices and butter tasted much better than the rice inside - which just tasted kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I needed to cook this about twice as long as the recipe recommended. It was good, but labor-intensive. I probably won't make it agin due to the time factor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Ive made this several times, and i enjoy it, my family wasnt too crazy about it, but their not mushroom fans. I used minute rice and substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. It did not turn out dry and the rice was cooked all the way....ill continue making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnklein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Persia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
So-so. I had to make quite a few changes to get the consistency right and over all it was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe turned out very nice for my family and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I read some of the reviews and I did sautee the rice with the onions and added some garlic. I'm giving it a lower rating because I think it needs more water, vegatable broth, or another can of mushroom soup. It didn't turn out for me and I ended up putting it on the stove and cooking it like plain rice adding 2 extra cups of water. It turned out o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the rice turned out clumpy and flavorless. Also dry oregano seemed to have really ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The recipe as is is very bland. So to tweak it a bit, I replaced the vegetable broth with chicken broth (1 can). Added pepper and a litte bit more salt. Also, instead of the oven, I cooked it on top of the stove (simmer for 20-25 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
mushrooms...onions and oregano and tree fav flavors!!! I LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States