Baked Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Made this for supper last night and it turned out wonderful. I did make the following changes. I used short grain rice, not minute rice, and I added almost two cups of chopped portofino mushrooms and 1 cup of chopped onion. Instead of salt, I added Natures Seasoning (about 1 tsp) and used a chicken bouillon cube dissolved in 1 cup of water instead of the vegetable broth. I also greased the casserole dish with butter flavor Crisco prior to pouring the mixture in. I baked it in a covered 10" x 10" x 2" casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I cooked the rice first, omitted oregano, use Olive oil instead of butter, 1 1/2 Chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, add some pepper pieces and baked at 350 degrees for forty minutes. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
So, I didn't read the reviews until right after I'd put it in the oven. I already added almost a cup more water, and I used golden mushroom soup and dried onions. I pulled it back out and added MORE water, and changed the temp to 375 and put it in for 30 minutes. It wasn't ready, and it was drying out, so I added a can of regular cream of mushroom soup, and about a cup of milk, plus another half-can of water and some chopped garlic. Mixed that all in and put it back in the oven (covered in foil the whole time) for 15 more minutes. Finally soft rice, but the flavor is pretty bland. The kids like it though, so I guess it's a winner. Not sure if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.dr.shot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Made this today. I added 1/2 more broth thinking that 2 cups of rice need 4 cups of liquid to cook.I had to bake it 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated. it was very very good. I added a generous shake of Janes's mixed up salt, and generous shake of ground black pepper. I will make this again. Thankyou for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I took other reviews into consideration and cut the rice back to a cup. I did not have vegetable broth on hand, I had to substitute beef broth. I baked my rice at 350 degrees for an hour. It's not often that I make a rice dish that disappears but this one was seriously inhaled. My husband went back and ate what was left in the casserole dish and asked if I could make this again soon. This casserole may have a couple issues but the previous reviewer's helped save me a disaster in the kitchen. Don't discount this recipe--cut the rice back by half and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I gave this 3 stars because I didn't follow the exact recipe, rather I took the advice from the other reviewers. I cooked the rice before hand, sauteed the onions with butter and garlic, added only a cup of broth and a little milk and baked uncovered for 30 minutes. I was delicious! Definitley will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOUNTSTARS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I followed the suggestions from the last 2 reviewers and it definitely would benefit from marjoram, more mushrooms, and more garlic and even some parmesan. Everyone ate it, but I didn't hear anyone say, "Oh, this is good". I think mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
very tasty my daughter said it tastes like rice-a-roni was meant to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I make this all the time. The reason people are having trouble with it is you must bring the liquid to a boil before adding all the ingriedience to the cassarole dish. heat the soup and broth on the stove or microwave first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States