Baked Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
What a difference sprinkling ground Coriander on each piece made to this recipe. Blended beautifully with the sherry. I didn't have mushrooms so I baked the chicken alone, increased broth by 3/4 cup and sherry by 1/2 cup. Heavy on black pepper and garlic salt but wow....this is a keeper! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
everyone liked/use recipe as base, see notes for modification
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I love the concept of this tasty dish as it's simple, and healthy - with modification. I can have it in the oven in 5 minutes and my husband requests it every week or so. I agree with others that it need some spicing up, but that's easy to do. Also, instead of sautéing, I put sliced brown mushrooms in a bowl, add the spices, etc. and mix it all together. Then I place the chicken in a pan and scoop the mushroom mix on top. Other changes I've made are to use breasts or thighs, adding garlic, dried shallots, thinly sliced onion pieces, misc. herbs, no salt, and I always use olive oil instead of butter. Occasionally I make this with skin on chicken and then I either put the mushrooms on the bottom and sides to bake, or during the last five minutes I scoot the mushrooms to the side and broil it so the skin browns. Baking time is determined by the size of the chicken pieces, usually 30 - 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
this is a good base recipe. I added three cloves of minced garlic to the mushrooms when they were nearly done. Then after removing the mushrooms I deglazed the pan with the broth and sherry. I added a dash of salt and pepper to that, along with one sliced jalepeno, and let it sit while I put the chicken into the baking dish. I spooned the mushrooms over the chicken, poured the broth/sherry mixture over that, then the butter over that. Baked for about 25m, then uncovered it and sprinkled fresh grated parmesan over the whole thing. Baked it for another 10-15m. Served it over rice. Came out good! Not for girls and sissies, though! ;) If you have a tender palate, maybe try half a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhymeswith16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Easy to make. We added some bread crumbs and hefeweizen beer instead of the sherry. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is Chicken Marsala?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I don't know where my grocery store gets their chickens, but I have two breasts that total 1.56lbs! I am preparing the recipe with the proportions for 6 breasts. I sauteed onion, three cloves of garlic and butter first (in 3lbs of butter, not 2), then when soft, I added the mushrooms. After everything was soft, I added the sherry and chicken broth to the pan and simmered everything together for a few minutes. I didn't put butter directly on the chicken since I used extra to sautee. I put salt and pepper on the chicken breasts, then dumped the contents of the pan over the chicken and baked as suggested. It was very good, not 5 stars, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
bland & dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Easy to prepare. Great with roasted vegetables. Would be easy for dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I liked the fact that this is a healthy dish. I added garlic pepper before baking to give more flavor, and I used portabellas for the mushrooms. I baked at 400 for 35 min and chicken was perfect. Try placing on top of a bed of mashed potatoes and peppery arugula, and you've got a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States