Baked Moist and Savory Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I added my own fresh cornbread and mixed the two for Thanksgiving. This was not well received, I always add more broth. This is great to use when your fixing a quick week night meal, not Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I followed the directions but it would have turned out better if I would have prepared it like I usually do. I should have sauteed the onion and celery in butter not boil them. Like others said, it needed more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
OK, so normally I do not change a recipe the first time I try it. However, based on previous stuffings I have made and my family's preferences, I did make the following changes - and this is better than any other stuffing I've made. I added about a cup of white cooking wine, 4 Tbsp of butter, and a package of sliced mushrooms to the boiling process. I also used cornbread stuffing from Pepperidge Farm. It was absolutely fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCNEWMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipe got good reviews at our Christmas dinner, but I modified it quite a bit based on what I had on hand. Diced 3 stalks celery and one onion and let it simmer with 4.5 cups of water and 2 T butter until soft. Immediately mixed it with three 6 ounce boxes of stuffing mix, transferred to baking dish and baked it for 15 minutes @ 400 degrees. Wonderful and moist! I followed the directions on the box for the water measurement (1.5 cups per box) It really didn't need to be baked and could have been served immediately. Nice addition to jazz up plain stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I too browned the onions and celery in butter first. I wish I'd known to used the crushed stuffing mix instead of cubed. I had to use twice as much broth just to get it moist and then it was just "okay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I added more seasoning & some long grain & wild rice to it. It was very good, but not "the one". Very easy basic recipe to adjust and add things too. Maybe apples? cranberries?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I really didn't like this stuffing at all and neither did my guests :( I'll stick to the old fashioned way of doing my stuffing next year :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedleo1978
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is my favorite way to make stuffing. It is a Thanksgiving standard, has been my whole life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I cook my onions and celery in 1/4 cup butter before adding the broth for savory flavor. Also substituted cornbread stuffing for 1/2 the herbed stuffing and added a splash of apple cider. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I make a verison of this stuffing by browning celery and onions first, and using the sage and onion cubes. I've added pork sausage, but it tastes just as good if you don't. Everyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grange, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States