Baked Mexicali Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This came out pretty well. I had to improvise as I had all the ingredients on hand....but in the form of fresh from the farmstand/not canned. I used 1 ear of sweet corn cut off the cob/1 tomato/half a green pepper. Since my tomato was fresh I had to guess at how much lime and cilantro...used 1tb lime juice and 1/2 tsp dry cilantro. The rest of the ingredients as listed. The chops come out nice and moist. This made more bean mix that I needed for 2 porkchops/had leftover beans. I just used the leftover beans as a side dish for dinner the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were awesome we gobbled them up after a walk in the park. I used a foil pan instead and covered pan with foil. Made a whole tray full. I used tomatoes with green chilies instead that is what I had on hand. I have been sharing this with others- they love it too! It's under 20 minutes that is my rule for cooking. anything over that is too much unless I have help in kitchen! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
As prepared I giving this 4 stars. Hubby and I both thought it needed more flavor. For ease of preparation, I'd give it 5+. Next time I make this, I'm adding more chili powder and will also add cumin and roasted jalapenos. Definitely a great based recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Very surprised @ how yummy this simple recipe is. Followed recipe except I seared the chops on a grill pan after seasoning (yep, I know pork is "the other white meat", but I prefer some color on my pork!) Also threw it all into a covered casserole dish instead of using the foil (sorry Reynolds Wrap!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This has become a new favorite meal because it is so easy to make and clean up. We found that the beans/corn/tomato mix is plenty for 4-6 pork chops, and we also prefer to cut the amount of corn in half (it was just too heavy on the corn as written). If you have a little more time to prep, it's even better if you marinate the pork chops beforehand. We've tried a few different Mexican/southwest/fajita style marinades and they have all tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Tasty meal but a little bland. The chops turn out very tender and it's super easy to make. Will make again using more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Geise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deming, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These are very good but I made them spicy. I combined 1/2 tsp of each of the following Cumin, salt garlic powder, Paprika, Cajun, and a dash of the sage and rubbed it on the chop. I also used rinsed chili beans and green chilies in place of the beans and peppers. This gave them a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pessimist01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Lead, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Surprisingly good. Husband doesn't like pork chops and I do so this was a good way to prepare them to get him to eat them. He actually enjoyed it and there wasn't much clean up. Nice go to for weeknights! However, would recommend doing 4-6 pork chops with rest of ingredients. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were good. I liked the flavor of everything. I did just put my chops in a casserole dish and pour everything on top and baked it covered. I didn't want to take the time to do each foil pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Easy weeknight dinner for sure. I baked it in a 9x13 baking dish covered instead. Tastes ok, nothing fantastic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States