Baked Meaty Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wow! These beans rocked at our birthday party. No one went without eating them. We used Frank's RedHot Sauce in place of the Chipotle since we had it on hand, but my guess is that it was just as good. Some complained of the heat, but our beans were even gobbled up by our 18 month and four year old. We even tried to make a second batch on the rangetop after they were gone. We didn't have all of the fixin's so those weren't as good. Anyway, give these a try - you'll go back for more until the pot is empty, I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
If my husband hadn't liked these beans SO much I would not be leaving a review because I left so many things out....no onion, used onion powder, no real maple syrup, no chipotle sauce used hot sauce, no cannellini OR great Northern beans. I also make my own brown sugar using white sugar and molasses (so easy and cheaper than buying brown sugar!) I added about 2 Tbsp. of chili powder and a Tbsp. of Cumin. I cut the recipe in half also since I'm not feeding an army. Cooked this in my electric skillet instead of baking it. I also had to add about a cup and a half of water as it was cooking because it was very thick and we like our beans a little looser. Great recipe! Sorry I didn't follow it exactly but it still came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I would have rated it a 5 star (that's what it should be) but the dutch oven was confusing me. I might be new, but I know that certain pots and pans can give the food a different taste and I thought maybe the Dutch oven did that. In anycase I just used a regular pan and I 1/2'd the recipe. It was still plentiful even though it went kind of quick. Very very delicious and easy to make. I made it in my wok. Thanks Danopak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is my first review, and I HAD to say thank you!! These are the best baked beans ever! I got raves from everyone at the 4th of July picnic. The secret is the meat sauce. I used regular syrup and whatever beans I had onhand. Oh, the chipotle was a little too hot, but soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Wow. I use a higher proportion of beans to meat, and I make it on the stove top. but other than that, I stick to the recipe, and this is just about perfect as written. Thanks very much, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
We love these beans! This seems like a large quantity, since it shows that it's for 20-25 people. However, this is th eright amount for a nice sized birthday party or barbecue cookout. If you make a MUCH smaller batch, you can simply continue cooking them on the range top. I hope that you enjoy these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Siegrist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pierson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Its a favourite at all the functions I visit. It gets requested 3 or 4 times per year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawn.c.lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Verry Goood mine got rave reviews they almost licked the pan clean . The only thing I did differently was to cook all of the meat onions & other ingredients together, drained added all the beans & cooked in the crock-pot. so easy & good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I love love this recipe. I made it for Christmas last yr and got rave reviews. There may be a lot of ingredients but they add layers of flavors. I know I have some in my freezer for whenever I may want some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie DeCarolis Kocur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Great They almost licked the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States