Baked Meaty Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wow! These beans rocked at our birthday party. No one went without eating them. We used Frank's RedHot Sauce in place of the Chipotle since we had it on hand, but my guess is that it was just as good. Some complained of the heat, but our beans were even gobbled up by our 18 month and four year old. We even tried to make a second batch on the rangetop after they were gone. We didn't have all of the fixin's so those weren't as good. Anyway, give these a try - you'll go back for more until the pot is empty, I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These are very good. My DH just loved them. So many levels of ingredients. I did not have any chipotle sauce, so I couldn't add it. But we didn't miss it either, since we have not had these beans with the sauce, I don't know what it added. My beans were delish! I had kidney beans, butter beans, pinto beans, grandma browns baked beans and navy beans, so that is what I added. Like others I was a bit weary of all the maple syrup, but after cooking it just sits there in the back ground. These are sweet beans, not tomatoey beans. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My husband and I both really enjoyed this side dish. We took it to a bbq and got many compliments. I didn't have any maple syrup, so that was left out, but it was sweet enough for both of us without it. We also used chipotles in adobo instead of the sauce. I also used kielbasa. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe, it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
New favorite! Used more baked beans, no black beans (none in the cabinet) along with reg. brown sugar instead of dark for the same reason! Put 1 T. molasses to give a dark sweet kick. Could not find chipotle sauce, so I used hot sauce (about 1/8 C.) and it was GREAT. Don't know what could make this recipe better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Made this for a picnic and had rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Easy to make. I took this to a party and it got great reviews. It was gone in no time. I'm making it again, although I'm not going to use as much chipotle sauce this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
These beans are delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this for my daughter's second birthday. I made it in the morning on the stovetop, instead of baking it, and it is wonderful. I kept 'sampling' it throughout the day! Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Not what I expected. The sugar and maple came out too strong. Will not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I would have rated it a 5 star (that's what it should be) but the dutch oven was confusing me. I might be new, but I know that certain pots and pans can give the food a different taste and I thought maybe the Dutch oven did that. In anycase I just used a regular pan and I 1/2'd the recipe. It was still plentiful even though it went kind of quick. Very very delicious and easy to make. I made it in my wok. Thanks Danopak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States