Baked Meaty Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
If my husband hadn't liked these beans SO much I would not be leaving a review because I left so many things out....no onion, used onion powder, no real maple syrup, no chipotle sauce used hot sauce, no cannellini OR great Northern beans. I also make my own brown sugar using white sugar and molasses (so easy and cheaper than buying brown sugar!) I added about 2 Tbsp. of chili powder and a Tbsp. of Cumin. I cut the recipe in half also since I'm not feeding an army. Cooked this in my electric skillet instead of baking it. I also had to add about a cup and a half of water as it was cooking because it was very thick and we like our beans a little looser. Great recipe! Sorry I didn't follow it exactly but it still came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wow! These beans rocked at our birthday party. No one went without eating them. We used Frank's RedHot Sauce in place of the Chipotle since we had it on hand, but my guess is that it was just as good. Some complained of the heat, but our beans were even gobbled up by our 18 month and four year old. We even tried to make a second batch on the rangetop after they were gone. We didn't have all of the fixin's so those weren't as good. Anyway, give these a try - you'll go back for more until the pot is empty, I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These are very good. My DH just loved them. So many levels of ingredients. I did not have any chipotle sauce, so I couldn't add it. But we didn't miss it either, since we have not had these beans with the sauce, I don't know what it added. My beans were delish! I had kidney beans, butter beans, pinto beans, grandma browns baked beans and navy beans, so that is what I added. Like others I was a bit weary of all the maple syrup, but after cooking it just sits there in the back ground. These are sweet beans, not tomatoey beans. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My husband and I both really enjoyed this side dish. We took it to a bbq and got many compliments. I didn't have any maple syrup, so that was left out, but it was sweet enough for both of us without it. We also used chipotles in adobo instead of the sauce. I also used kielbasa. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe, it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
New favorite! Used more baked beans, no black beans (none in the cabinet) along with reg. brown sugar instead of dark for the same reason! Put 1 T. molasses to give a dark sweet kick. Could not find chipotle sauce, so I used hot sauce (about 1/8 C.) and it was GREAT. Don't know what could make this recipe better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Made this for a picnic and had rave reviews and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Reno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Easy to make. I took this to a party and it got great reviews. It was gone in no time. I'm making it again, although I'm not going to use as much chipotle sauce this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
These beans are delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this for my daughter's second birthday. I made it in the morning on the stovetop, instead of baking it, and it is wonderful. I kept 'sampling' it throughout the day! Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Not what I expected. The sugar and maple came out too strong. Will not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States