Baked Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
These were wonderful ... much too quick and easy for the great results. I made these Thursday eve for the next day. When I put them in the baking dish, I was doubtful. The next day, I stirred them up and made peaks with a fork. An hour later, they were fluffy, and the tips were golden. Rave reviews. A definite keeper for any season or occasion. Update: 11/04, I continue to use this recipe as the best I've ever found in do-ahead mashed potatoes, and the concensus is they're even better. The recipe as written, including using Yukon Gold (as opposed to other varieties) is what makes it wonderful. It's a no-fail for me. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Do not make and bake this ahead of time or it will be dry and flat when reheated. DO MAKE IT and refrigerate it until you need it. Then bake and serve it right away! Then it is very tasty, high and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I submitted this recipe and I'm so glad that everyone seems to like it. It was my mother's. (She didn't make her mashed potatoes this way until I got married and moved out)! I've noticed some are leaving out the egg. The egg will make your potatoes even fluffier, and rise higher. Leave in the egg, you'll see! Enjoy! Please note***The recipe I submitted was to use 1 tablespoon grated onion not 1 whole grated onion! That may be why the onion taste is overpowering to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
We made the mashed potatoes ahead of time, refrigerated them, and baked them the next day. They were very creamy and rich - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
These are great! Have made them twice, last night for a Christmas Party that I catered. So much easier than mashing them right before dinner! I made them the day before, put them in gallon bags & they tasted like I had just made them on the spot! I did add a whole head of garlic that I pre roasted....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
These had a great texture - fluffy and light. It was a bit bland for me (I like really buttery potatoes), but I think some extra butter and onion will remedy that in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Fantastic recipe. I modify it quite a bit based on the ingredients I have on hand, but they turn out well every time. Suggested additions: fresh garlic, fresh parsley, medium cheddar cheese and chives. You can also leave the skin on the potatoes if you like. If you don't have time to bake them, just omit the egg and whip up the potateos with a mixer. Makes great "dirty" mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are my husband's absolute favourite way to eat mashed potatoes, and one of mine as well. I follow the recipe to a T. I serve them to company a lot. I love that you can make them ahead, put them in the fridge, and then about an hour before people arrive while you're busy preparing the rest of the meal, you just stick them in the oven. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are fantastic, definatly better than your standard mashed 'tatoes. I followed recipe exact, turned out great. Made ahead, baked half of it tonight and will bake the other half tomorrow for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This recipe was soooo good. I added a clove of minced garlic for more flavor. Next time I want to try leaving out the egg and not bother to bake them, just do them on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States