Baked Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I was disappointed in this given all the rave reviews. I prepared the recipe one day, then baked it as directed the next. It was not as rich as I'd expected given the cream cheese. While I don't think its bad for make ahead potatoes, it wasn't anything special. And when it came out of the oven, it was slightly browned and dry looking - did not look appetizing and my guests did not even try it. The next day I took it to potluck dinner. I reheated in microwave, added more milk, butter and chicken broth. Then put back in the oven to finish warming and added fried onions to the top. A big improvement, but I doubt I'll ever use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Parie
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These turned out great. So rich & creamy & delicious! I left out the egg & onion, and they were still light & fluffy. I made them earlier in the day & left them in the fridge until ready to bake. I love that you can make them ahead of time. Easy & yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Yum! Guests loved this. I used 1 TBSP onion instead of a whole one. I also added about 2-3 TBS of horseradish sauce --gave it a little kick. Easy to prepare ahead, which is so helpful for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were really tasty. I made them the day ahead and heated them up the day of and they were moist and creamy. I didn't read the review that pointed out the error (1 tbsp of grated onion, not a whole onion), but I didn't find the onion flavour overwhelming. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Great Recipe! My son is not a fan of my mashed potatoes but, he cleaned his plate of these. They were incredibly fluffy and the onion added great flavor! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaschultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were pretty good. I just felt like they were missing something. Not as creamy as your typical mashed potato. Although we liked them, i'll stick with my recipe for Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
In the unlikely event that I would make these again, I would decrease the onion in half and surely saute them in butter to soften before adding to the potatoes. It just had an overwhelming onion flavor. I also didn't find this recipe to be as creamy and flavorful as most others have. In fact, they're sort of on the dry side. But, since I am enjoying them a tad more today leftover and the onion flavor is more mellow, I'm going to guess that making them the day before and refrigerating them is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was great I did half the recipe and didn't add the onions. It still turned out great. I also added the cheese in the middle of cooking turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
They were really good, but didn't think they were worth the extra time and effort it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States