Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These Crab Cakes were very good and very easy to make! I did have to make a few changes only out of necessity. I didn’t have any baking powder so I omitted it. I also did not have mustard powder so I just used regular mustard. Even with the changes it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
replaced mayo with ranch, used cajun seasoning instead of seafood, and added some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
These were fantastic! I was looking for just this type of recipe to bake instead of fry. The only thing I did differently was to chill the cakes for a couple of hours before baking. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Finally a recipe for Maryland Crab Cakes made like we do it in most homes in Maryland. Most important things in a real Maryland Crab Cake - no filler - Old Bay and just jumbo lump crabmeat (being careful not to break it up when mixing). Has just the right amount of seasoning to add to the taste of the crab and not over whelm it. Thanks for setting the record straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
THANK YOU! Served these & got rave reviews from my guest. The only chance I made was I added 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I love allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Expensive disaster! May be my fault, as I made substitutions. I used real mustard like another reviewer suggested, and I used 12 oz of canned crab instead of 16 oz. because the full amount of fresh crab would have been about $18! I also used real eggs instead of substitute. I measured an egg and found it to be 1/4 cup so I used three. The cakes themselves looked fine and cooked fine, but they tasted like scrambled eggs with a hint of crab. They were only edible when dunked in malt vinegar. I'm sure this recipe would be good if you know what the heck you're doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was great! This recipe makes 12. Try again; you'll really be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Great crab cakes! i followed the recipe and they turned out wonderful. I made them for my father-in-law for Father's Day and he cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Very easy and very tasty! I omitted the mustard and I used two real eggs with a 1/4 cup of half and half to simulate the egg beaters. In a word... delicious! Thanks for a great recipe; will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
A very good Maryland recipe! Tastes like those I ate growing up on Maryland's Eastern Shore. I think using all soft butter and no mayo would be fine. The use of baking soda was new to me and I may fry them next time, but they were still very good. The key is both little filler and mild seasonings. Strong seasonings (such as bell pepper) can cover up the mild, sweet flavor of good Blue Crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States