Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I was excited to try this recipe after seeing keywords: "Baked", "lived by the Chesapeake Bay", then "egg whites", and "almost no filler". Made these for dinner tonight, following your footnotes (no need to tweak on my own) with egg whites, olive oil mayo and omitting the butter. I make at home a sodium-free Old Bay, leaving salt preference to the individual at the table. Mine came to under 45 calories each. My husband had no idea these were healthy until I described the difference in this and other recipes, including pan-frying. Other than the naturally high cholesterol in crab, my doctor would be really happy about this recipe. Thank you T Kent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Good recipe, nice flavor, and easy to prepare. I used past. crabmeat because fresh was not available. Will try with fresh next time. This is definitely better than the recipe on the side of the Old Bay can. Also the Old Bay Crab Cake Mix does not hold a candle to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
OMG!! Is there something wrong with me? These were not good....WAY too much egg product, spice, salt (from somewhere) and they were like little blobs!! $15.00 worth of crab wasted!! If anyone else thought these were terrible please let me know! Maybe I did something wrong, but I don't think so...I followed the recipe (except I halved the seafood spice)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This recipe was great! I'm from Maryland and loved it. Everyone loved the crab cakes. Yummy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The flavor is really good. Like another reviewer, I used 1 real egg because I didn't have an egg substitute. I skipped the chilling step that others suggested, and mine still held up pretty well. Also, like another reviewer mentioned, this only made 6 regular sized crab cakes. I think if I had shaped mine into smaller and flatter cakes I could've gotten 12. With my convection oven it took a little bit longer to look cooked (15-20 min). I also broiled the tops a little. But, overall, very yummy and beats the recipe on the side of the Old Bay can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Awesome!! Swapped the green onions with diced yellow because they were on hand. I also used sriracha sauce for the hot and added some chopped red bell pepper for extra flavor and color! Cannot wait to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Delicious! In the interest of honesty, I followed recipe almost to the letter, however, due to ingredients I had on hand, I did replace the bread crumbs with the exact same measure of panko crumbs and replaced the egg substitute with one whole egg. These are fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The recipe is excellent. I baked the crab cakes for 10 minutes and then broiled for six. Be sure the melted butter is completely cooled before adding to egg product or you will have pieces of cooked egg in the mixture. I will use less "Old Bay" next time though, as they were a tad too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were delicious! I did use 1 whole egg instead of the egg substitute. Did not effect the dish. Next time I think I will cook them closer to 10 min on each side so they will turn out more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States