Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Easy and delicious. I made it a little lower in fat by using an eggless vegan mayonaise and replaced the butter with olive oil. I also rolled them in panko before baking. These were very light, crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Awesome! I'm a Marylander & this recipe is legit! I used 2 eggs and I also added a dash or 2 of crushed red pepper. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I too am from Maryland's Eastern shore where everyone has their favorite recipe. And although I didn't follow her ingredients it's definitely 5 stars for cooking technique. I've always either fried or broiled my crabcakes (and they're always a bear to turn) but baking them is terrific. I didn't even bother to turn them! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StraitAWheyGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I almost ruined this by not paying attention to the directions and mixed the bread crumbs in with the eggs and other liquids - I had soupy crab cakes :) Not to worry, we rolled them in more breadcrumbs and they fried up just fine :) I used two beaten eggs, which was only about half a cup, and served with garlic aioli. I used a half cup measuring cup to make the cakes and got exactly 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Just add tartar sauce, remoulade or cocktail on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
i live in south louisiana and have eaten many crab dishes, this is one of the best. thanks to the reviewer that said to use 2 eggs instead of the egg product. i'm an old redneck and didn't have a clue as to what "egg product" was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have never made Crab Cakes before, but my fiance wanted it. I took a chance and made it and he said it was the best he has ever had, even better than ones at restaurants. It was easy to make and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! Although I love crab cakes, this was the first time I actually tried to make them for myself. When I was searching for a recipe, one thing I knew that I definitely did NOT want to end up with were "doughy" crab cakes, which I really hate. So, that is why this recipe caught my attention, in addition to baking vs. frying. With the exception of some VERY helpful tips posted by "LynsieC" on 7/19/2007, I followed the recipe as it was written; and not only did they come out PERFECT, I have to admit that they are probably the best I have ever had (outside of the Maryland harbor when visiting family, of course!) The exceptions that I made were (based on Lynsie's tips): (1) I did use real egg (I used 2); (2) I did make them larger, and more round and fluffy (hence, much less than 12 crab cakes, as she noted, which was actually perfect, because they were for "dinner"); and I did refrigerate them for 1/2 hour before baking. I was also very careful to "fold" the crab gently when combining it with the other ingredients, so that the crab meat would not break up (as suggested). Additionally, the larger crab cakes will require that you increase your cooking time a bit; so you should keep that in mind. They were DELISH! And I am SO excited to FINALLY have a crab cake recipe that I can call my "own"! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
My only complaint is that the old bay made it a little too "salty" for my taste. I will definitely make these again (with half the amt of old bay)! Delicious and definitley authentic Maryland Crab Cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
4 1/2 stars I've lived in Southern Maryland for a year and never knew real crab cakes were baked, not fried. The only change I made was fresh bread crumbs, not dried. Other Maryland recipes called for broken up bread. The amount of Old Bay made this a tad salty. I might adjust that next time. The one downer for this recipe is that the house stank for 24 hours. Thanks for the recipe...this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States