Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe was delicious. The texture of the crab cakes was just right, and they were golden brown on both sides. I used a freshly homemade Old Bay seasoning recipe, and it did overpower the crab flavor a little bit. I would recommend cutting it down to 1 teaspoon if using homemade Old Bay. I also used one egg instead of the egg substitute. I sprayed the pan and the tops of the cakes with olive oil before cooking, and once again after turning. For those who have trouble finding Old Bay, look in the fresh seafood section of your grocery store. It is often found there instead of in the spice aisle. All of the markets near me carry Old Bay. `
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This recipe was very easy to make. I did have to makes some minor spice substitutions but even with them they turned out great! I will make these again & try to use all your spices the next time. May even make them for Christmas Eve appetizers. Thank you this is the best recipe that I have tried for crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Great recipe! Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Amazingly good! I only made one change by using 2 eggs instead of egg substitute. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
FAR too watery to make a lump! I wonder about the "3/4 cup egg product".... was she perhaps using POWDERED or dried eggs? I got "Crab Soup" and would up making a "Crab Casserole" in a piecrust. It was..... unusual, but I'll be switched I throw out a pound of lump crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Really, really good! We cut the crab with some imitation both to save money and to get rid a bit of the fishy taste, worked well. Other than that made as is and followed suggestion to refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Well this became an instant favorite with my husband. All her tips seemed to be what made them come out so delicious, chill, don't form into flat cakes, keep loose and light. The flavor was just wonderful, Thank You for sharing this recipe !!!! P.S. I wouldn't change a single thing about this recipe, you'll destroy it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed the review #23 because it seemed more like a Maryland crab cake. I did not bake, but broiled. The first 5minutes I broiled on high then lower broiler during the last 5 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Easy AND delicious! Received lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Just barely acceptable; too much egg made this a bit rubbery and egg-like; the flavors were just OK. I didn't see this in the recipe, but the flavor was very much improved when served with lemon wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States