Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very very good. It seems a bit more healthy than a lot of recipes out there; you can tell it's not as heavy compared to what you might get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
10+ Stars! I'm so excited to find a recipe that is not fried! I will be more likely to make crab cakes at home now that I know that I can do it without using oil. I will add another 2 Tb. of bread crumbs next time (I used Panko) add some lemon juice and maybe cut down on the old bay a little since it seemed to overwhelm the crab flavor a little bit. My hubby also sauteed 1/4 cup of onion with minced garlic in a skillet to add to the mix and I'll definitely do this again next time! Also took other reviewers advice to chill for 30 - 45 minutes before baking. This made four giant patties, but next time it will be 5 or 6 patties so it cooks in the time allotted. We broiled it the last 5 minutes so the cakes would have crispy tops. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because this is the first recipe for crab cakes I've found that is baked. Who doesn't love the flavor of a pan fried cake? But the calories and fat make it a meal that I just can't feel good about making for dinner. This is a great compromise. The crabcakes are tasty (you can spice them up if you like) and I felt as if I wasn't compromising for a lo-fat dinner. I made a simple buttermilk dill sauce which the kids loved on top, so overall this was a winner. Here are the revisions I made and the dill sauce recipe... I split the egg between two regular eggs and 1/4 cup egg beaters. You really do need a binding agent. I doubled the bread crumbs just so that it would stay together better. I chilled the mixture in a bowl and then used an ice cream scoop to put on the baking sheet. I think the time in the fridge helps the breadcrumbs expand and the whole mixture thicken enough to stay together. Also, watch the time, it could easily get dried out. I probably did 12 minutes one side and mabe 8 the other side. That's all the change I made. They were good but I might add some more spices next time. As for the buttermilk Dill sauce: 1 cup mayonnaise 1/4 cup buttermilk 1 tsp. dried dill 1.5 tsp. dried parsley leaves 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice 1 garlic clove, minced, add some lemon zest if you have it I'll add this to my recipe box and anytime crab meat is on sale it will be on my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I'm a lifelong Marylander, and my husband and I love crab dishes so much that our wedding theme was "Love, Honor & Old Bay" (with engraved crab mallets as favors). So I was really happy to finally find a crabcake recipe on the site that tastes just like the best local restaurant crabcakes. This one does! I did use two whole eggs (instead of the egg substitute) and more Old Bay (at least 1 T, and more sprinkled on top) than the recipe calls for. Also -- for real MD crabcake style, try broiling them (about 10 minutes each side, depending on thickness) instead of baking them. But in general, this recipe was spot on, and I will be making it all summer with fresh local blue crab. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Crab cakes were very dry and bland even after cutting the baking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I substituted 3 eggs for the egg product, used Progresso's Italian bread crumbs and baked 10 min each side and made 8 cakes. No complaints from my 5 boys except they wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
OMG, these were so good! I made a few changes (because I used what I had on hand, instead of going to the store): I used panko bread crumbs, low fat mayo, and dijon mustard, and these turned out great! Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Much better than fried. not a cheap dish though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very disapointed,bland taste and so very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lareina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used three eggs instead of the egg substitute. My youngest loved these but hubby thought they were a bit dry. He also thought they could use more flavor. I enjoyed them but agreed that they could use more flavor. I made these up and let them sit for an hour before baking. I loved that they were baked and not fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States