Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I'm a lifelong Marylander, and my husband and I love crab dishes so much that our wedding theme was "Love, Honor & Old Bay" (with engraved crab mallets as favors). So I was really happy to finally find a crabcake recipe on the site that tastes just like the best local restaurant crabcakes. This one does! I did use two whole eggs (instead of the egg substitute) and more Old Bay (at least 1 T, and more sprinkled on top) than the recipe calls for. Also -- for real MD crabcake style, try broiling them (about 10 minutes each side, depending on thickness) instead of baking them. But in general, this recipe was spot on, and I will be making it all summer with fresh local blue crab. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Crab cakes were very dry and bland even after cutting the baking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I substituted 3 eggs for the egg product, used Progresso's Italian bread crumbs and baked 10 min each side and made 8 cakes. No complaints from my 5 boys except they wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
OMG, these were so good! I made a few changes (because I used what I had on hand, instead of going to the store): I used panko bread crumbs, low fat mayo, and dijon mustard, and these turned out great! Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Much better than fried. not a cheap dish though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very disapointed,bland taste and so very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lareina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used three eggs instead of the egg substitute. My youngest loved these but hubby thought they were a bit dry. He also thought they could use more flavor. I enjoyed them but agreed that they could use more flavor. I made these up and let them sit for an hour before baking. I loved that they were baked and not fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I hate to admit it but I used fake crab. That's all we had and they were really good so I can't wait to try it with the real stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These turned out perfect. I used an ice cream scoop to portion these out and baked them on parchment paper. They browned perfect and held their shape. After scooping this out, I flattened with my hand so they were flattened equal. I used crab cake sauce on this site with the salsa in it for the sauce which was a nice compliment. This will be my regular crab cake recipe. I did use 3 eggs instead of the egg substitute also and it was the right consistency and baked them 12 minutes, then turned them and baked another 12 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was so salty! I hate that I wasted a pound of jumbo lump crab meat on this recipe, esspecially when I cooked dinner for my husband for valentines day. I think adding the Worcestershire was the worst idea ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States