Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My husband always rave about Maryland crab cakes and he said that these were pretty good! I baked them in a muffin pan, so they were all even and brown on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This recipe was awesome! The only modification I made was to add about two teaspoons of garlic powder to the dry mix. This recipe was absolutely all crab and less filler. Just be careful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very tasty indeed! I broiled and used italian bread crumbs. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I loved it. And yes, this tastes like an authentic "Maryland" crab cake (no onions or peppers, just lump crab meat). I only wish it were a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I mostly followed the recipe, but would say it worked out quite nicely. I started with 5 fresh rock crabs I caught myself at Berkeley Pier. After boiling and cleaning the crabs my crab meat was pretty moist to start with. I used fresh dill and fresh parsley instead of dried added some finely diced red onion, and I used a combo of parmesian cheese and bread crumbs. I used way more than 1/4 cup, closer to 3/4 cup since the crab meat was so moist in order to get the right texture. They turned out great, I will be crabbing all summer and will tweak it some as I continue to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very very good. It seems a bit more healthy than a lot of recipes out there; you can tell it's not as heavy compared to what you might get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
10+ Stars! I'm so excited to find a recipe that is not fried! I will be more likely to make crab cakes at home now that I know that I can do it without using oil. I will add another 2 Tb. of bread crumbs next time (I used Panko) add some lemon juice and maybe cut down on the old bay a little since it seemed to overwhelm the crab flavor a little bit. My hubby also sauteed 1/4 cup of onion with minced garlic in a skillet to add to the mix and I'll definitely do this again next time! Also took other reviewers advice to chill for 30 - 45 minutes before baking. This made four giant patties, but next time it will be 5 or 6 patties so it cooks in the time allotted. We broiled it the last 5 minutes so the cakes would have crispy tops. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because this is the first recipe for crab cakes I've found that is baked. Who doesn't love the flavor of a pan fried cake? But the calories and fat make it a meal that I just can't feel good about making for dinner. This is a great compromise. The crabcakes are tasty (you can spice them up if you like) and I felt as if I wasn't compromising for a lo-fat dinner. I made a simple buttermilk dill sauce which the kids loved on top, so overall this was a winner. Here are the revisions I made and the dill sauce recipe... I split the egg between two regular eggs and 1/4 cup egg beaters. You really do need a binding agent. I doubled the bread crumbs just so that it would stay together better. I chilled the mixture in a bowl and then used an ice cream scoop to put on the baking sheet. I think the time in the fridge helps the breadcrumbs expand and the whole mixture thicken enough to stay together. Also, watch the time, it could easily get dried out. I probably did 12 minutes one side and mabe 8 the other side. That's all the change I made. They were good but I might add some more spices next time. As for the buttermilk Dill sauce: 1 cup mayonnaise 1/4 cup buttermilk 1 tsp. dried dill 1.5 tsp. dried parsley leaves 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice 1 garlic clove, minced, add some lemon zest if you have it I'll add this to my recipe box and anytime crab meat is on sale it will be on my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I'm a lifelong Marylander, and my husband and I love crab dishes so much that our wedding theme was "Love, Honor & Old Bay" (with engraved crab mallets as favors). So I was really happy to finally find a crabcake recipe on the site that tastes just like the best local restaurant crabcakes. This one does! I did use two whole eggs (instead of the egg substitute) and more Old Bay (at least 1 T, and more sprinkled on top) than the recipe calls for. Also -- for real MD crabcake style, try broiling them (about 10 minutes each side, depending on thickness) instead of baking them. But in general, this recipe was spot on, and I will be making it all summer with fresh local blue crab. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Crab cakes were very dry and bland even after cutting the baking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States