Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Made these for a few friends and they were a hit. I followed the recipe as it is written. I may add cayenne for a little flair next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
4 stars, not because it wasn't great - it was - five stars is for perfect - A little too salty - I'd cut back on the Old Bay a tad and maybe the mustard. I loved that it was oven baked . Thanks for the recipe I'd make it again small changes! Edit: I made this again and I did cut back both the Old Bay and the mustard seasoning by 1/2. Refrigerated for 2 1/2 hours after lightly dusting with flour and cooked on the grill using indirect heat - this is my go to crab cake recipe for now on! Thank you soo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
So I know that many will be outraged to read that I did indeed make these with imitation crab. But the resulting product was super tasty. I took about a pound of the fake stuff and chopped it until it was fine, then followed the recipe accordingly. If anyone else is planning to use imitation, just remember that the cook time will be much less. About 15 min for the whole thing is what you need, and there's no need to flip the cakes half way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
AWESOME!! Finally a Crab Cake recipe that does not hide the crab. Everyone loved it!Expensive, but well worth it. I followed the recipe for the most part, except I used 2 eggs, 1-tsp. Old Bay, 1-1/2 lb. Wild Lump Crab Meat (in the container from Whole Foods) I also, like some reveiwers, used a ice cream scoop to form the cakes. I baked it for 20 mins. I forgot to put it in the refrigerator for the 20 + mins. as suggested by other reviewers, but thank goodness they kept its form and did not break apart, however I will refrigerate next time around. It was moist inside and a nice golden crust outside. For those who experience this recipe to be to salty, use only 1 tsp Old Bay, you may even get away with not adding the Old Bay, Crab Meat has it's own natural salt. This is a must for entertaining guests and on special occassions. It's a five star restaurant recipe. It cost me 45.00 to make 12 crab cakes. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My husband always rave about Maryland crab cakes and he said that these were pretty good! I baked them in a muffin pan, so they were all even and brown on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This recipe was awesome! The only modification I made was to add about two teaspoons of garlic powder to the dry mix. This recipe was absolutely all crab and less filler. Just be careful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very tasty indeed! I broiled and used italian bread crumbs. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I loved it. And yes, this tastes like an authentic "Maryland" crab cake (no onions or peppers, just lump crab meat). I only wish it were a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I mostly followed the recipe, but would say it worked out quite nicely. I started with 5 fresh rock crabs I caught myself at Berkeley Pier. After boiling and cleaning the crabs my crab meat was pretty moist to start with. I used fresh dill and fresh parsley instead of dried added some finely diced red onion, and I used a combo of parmesian cheese and bread crumbs. I used way more than 1/4 cup, closer to 3/4 cup since the crab meat was so moist in order to get the right texture. They turned out great, I will be crabbing all summer and will tweak it some as I continue to make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very very good. It seems a bit more healthy than a lot of recipes out there; you can tell it's not as heavy compared to what you might get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States