Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe!! I, too, am from the Eastern Shore of Maryland and I am trying to eat better so I searched for a baked recipe -- this recipe is great and it is almost just like the one I grew up with. I had two small changes -- 1. I used Saltines instead of bread crumbs -- just because my grandmother used these and it is easier to use saltines :). 2. I used a whole egg instead of egg substitute -- just because I don't have any egg substitute. I think the flavor of the crab meat comes out better when baked than fried -- and it's a whole lot better for you when it is baked. This is my new recipe for crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family liked the taste. I did alter ingredients and experienced problems with the cakes sticking to the pan when they came out of the oven. I will do this recipe again because it has a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The flavor combination of the crab cakes were awesome. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ursina, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe!!!! Very similar to G&M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larry N
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe was wonderful and my entire family loved it. We try to eat low carb & fat and I made a few minor changes...used whole wheat breadcrumbs, low fat mayonnaise and organic egg whites. The recipe was a little moist even with me cutting the egg whites to 1/2 cup but they came kept their form and weren't loose at all after baking. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have never rated a recipe before. Nor have I made crab cakes until tonight. Awesome!!! My husband took his first bite, then said "do you remember those crab cakes we had up on Chincoteague 100 years ago? Those were my favorite crab cakes... until tonight". From my husband - this is HUGE! ;) I used Jumbo Lump Crab and 2 fresh eggs from the hen house (no stinkin' egg substitutes in this house!) ;) and added a very small amount of finely diced red pepper just for color. I used Panko bread crumbs and had to add a bit more due to the amount of moisture - but only a very small amount. Chilled the crab in the fridge for an hour and then used an ice cream scoop to form loose balls/lumps. I elected to broil the cakes on the second shelf down from the heating element; five minutes then turned the cookie sheet around and broiled for another two minutes. LOVE THESE CRAB CAKES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made them exactly the way the recipe said to. I was not impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe was delicious. The texture of the crab cakes was just right, and they were golden brown on both sides. I used a freshly homemade Old Bay seasoning recipe, and it did overpower the crab flavor a little bit. I would recommend cutting it down to 1 teaspoon if using homemade Old Bay. I also used one egg instead of the egg substitute. I sprayed the pan and the tops of the cakes with olive oil before cooking, and once again after turning. For those who have trouble finding Old Bay, look in the fresh seafood section of your grocery store. It is often found there instead of in the spice aisle. All of the markets near me carry Old Bay. `
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This recipe was very easy to make. I did have to makes some minor spice substitutions but even with them they turned out great! I will make these again & try to use all your spices the next time. May even make them for Christmas Eve appetizers. Thank you this is the best recipe that I have tried for crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Great recipe! Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States