Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The recipe is excellent. I baked the crab cakes for 10 minutes and then broiled for six. Be sure the melted butter is completely cooled before adding to egg product or you will have pieces of cooked egg in the mixture. I will use less "Old Bay" next time though, as they were a tad too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were delicious! I did use 1 whole egg instead of the egg substitute. Did not effect the dish. Next time I think I will cook them closer to 10 min on each side so they will turn out more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely Wonderful! After moving away from the Eastern Shore, I was craving crab cakes and did not wat to pay to have them shipped and not be fresh. I used this recipe and followed everything but for the egg I cracked the egg and put everything in but the yolk. I can't wait to make these again on Valentine's Day. Definately make the time to refridgerate prior to baking. And if you have any leftovers, they are even better the next day. I did not get 12 cakes as I made mine more of a jumbo crab cake. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
So good! I formed the crab cakes two days before I cooked them. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very, very yummy and easy to make. I only said 4 stars because I like mine a little less spicy, but I know most people like their old bay :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely Perfect!!! Mine did not hold together to well when i went to flip them, that might be because I didn't add enough egg. Still absolutely yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome crab cakes, we fried them instead of baking on low for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I'm a maryland girl, so I'm a tough judge of MD crab cakes. That said, this was okay with some tweaking. 1) I used Panko crumbs 2) did not use butter 3) used 2 eggs instead of the substitute. I added a little old style mustard in addition to the mustard powder. They tasted okay but need something that I can't yet put my finger on. The mix was also a little too moist (another reason why I needed extra crumbs) so I will be sure to drain the crab meat a little before adding it to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was my first attempt at making crab cakes, and they turned out just great. I made them this morning, and put them in the refrigerator for a few hours, which made forming them much easier. The recipe made 10 cakes. i followed the recipe completely, I was careful not to over bake them after turning them over, so they turned out moist, golden brown and delicious. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FleurSweetLoves
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
There were hands down the best I have had and made...I've tried other recipes and they were much too wet and or much too salty with a pungent mustard taste. The only thing I did because I wasn't ready to use them right away was placed them in the refrigerator for 30 minutes for them to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States