Baked Maryland Lump Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
You really should add saltines. You can crush crackers vey fine and they will act as a binder. I don't feel it's necessary to use lump. I like to use special or bust up the lump. You really need something to hold it together and the thing with crackers you won't know they are there. You could easily add things like celery or spinach or onions. We would take two pound of crab meat. Add two eggs, one pack of saltines, two ounces of mustard, two ounces of mayonnaise, one ounce Worchestershire, mix together. Make patties one inch thick brown 5 minutes on each side. We would make crab balls and if you have hot grease you can cook crab balls in five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I don't know what I did, but these were not what I expected...won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I recently began a fat reduced eating program because my cholesterol was registering a little high. I started looking for healthier non meat recipes and found this one. I really liked it because the crab cakes are baked and not very much fat. I didn't change a thing...very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Best crab cakes I've ever eaten and all at my dinner party raved the same! Used fresh parsley but that was the only substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I loved how easy this recipe is! This was my first time making crab cakes and these came out great! I love that theres not too much filler, but i will probably cut down on the old bay next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I was excited to try this recipe after seeing keywords: "Baked", "lived by the Chesapeake Bay", then "egg whites", and "almost no filler". Made these for dinner tonight, following your footnotes (no need to tweak on my own) with egg whites, olive oil mayo and omitting the butter. I make at home a sodium-free Old Bay, leaving salt preference to the individual at the table. Mine came to under 45 calories each. My husband had no idea these were healthy until I described the difference in this and other recipes, including pan-frying. Other than the naturally high cholesterol in crab, my doctor would be really happy about this recipe. Thank you T Kent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Closter, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Good recipe, nice flavor, and easy to prepare. I used past. crabmeat because fresh was not available. Will try with fresh next time. This is definitely better than the recipe on the side of the Old Bay can. Also the Old Bay Crab Cake Mix does not hold a candle to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
OMG!! Is there something wrong with me? These were not good....WAY too much egg product, spice, salt (from somewhere) and they were like little blobs!! $15.00 worth of crab wasted!! If anyone else thought these were terrible please let me know! Maybe I did something wrong, but I don't think so...I followed the recipe (except I halved the seafood spice)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This recipe was great! I'm from Maryland and loved it. Everyone loved the crab cakes. Yummy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The flavor is really good. Like another reviewer, I used 1 real egg because I didn't have an egg substitute. I skipped the chilling step that others suggested, and mine still held up pretty well. Also, like another reviewer mentioned, this only made 6 regular sized crab cakes. I think if I had shaped mine into smaller and flatter cakes I could've gotten 12. With my convection oven it took a little bit longer to look cooked (15-20 min). I also broiled the tops a little. But, overall, very yummy and beats the recipe on the side of the Old Bay can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States